Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
As written, this is very bland. Believe it or not, it needs salt! My kids wouldn't eat it, so I should have made it more spicy from the beginning (and I used a Thai chili with the seeds). If I make it again, I will use more herbs, or maybe use dried herbs, which have more concentrated flavor than fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I did the recipe as described using all fresh herbs, but I added one link of hot turkey sausage and one link of mild turkey sausage while cooking the onions. Also during step where you cook the potatoes I added done sliced mushrooms. When I added the kale, I added about and extra half of cup since it didn't look like enough and added another 1/2 cup of chicken broth to balance it out. This with a baguette is an amazing meal when I'm home with a bad cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
OMG ....This is awesome. I was skepticle because it didn't have the many extra ingridients I always add to my minestrone recipes. I thought ...."where will the flavor come from????" To my surprise it was totally amazing! I often hunt for vegan recipes that have protein for my 21 yr old vegan daughter. this is a keeper. I did substitute diced tomatoes for the wine and red pepper flakes for the peppers. there was definetly a kick to the bite. next time I will add an extra can of beans and one less potato at my daughters request. I had never used kale before. I used the whole bunch chopped up the leaves andboy oh boy, it has lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suelizza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! Its fun to prepare and absolutely delicious. The flavor is perfection! Not to mention how healthy it is! My husband tried it, and said it was amazing! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Oh my god this is good. I don't know much about cooking, but my wife is very good. this blew both of us away. Rod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seldomhome

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
very good - loved it - be careful with the chili however can make it too hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup was excellent. Easy to make. I took it to my daughters house and they kept all the leftovers. They had it for lunch the next day. My granddaughter the vegetarian loved it. I'm going to make it again today. I didn't have white wine but red wine worked fine. I didn't have fresh herbs but dried were good and I used a dried red pepper. Thanks for a really good and healthy soup receipe. 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this recipe based on its rating and the rave reviews. What a waste of ingredients! This had absolutely no flavour at all! I made it exactly as written except that after the sauteeing of the onions, garlic and carrots, I put it into the slow cooker for 8 hours. We are kale fans but did not care for this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious and easy. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This soup will make you smile!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States