Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. So easy and yummy! I did make a few alterations to suit my taste. I doubled the garlic (love it!), used all chicken broth (again, my preference), added more kale (to up the nutrition content) and omitted the chile pepper (my 2 y.o. was eating it too so I didn't want the heat). I also added browned ground turkey for some extra protein. As for the kale, I did not sautee before adding to the soup (as another reviewer did) but I did add it before the potatoes to give it time to cook down. I will definitely do that again because the potatoes in this soup can fall apart and the kale takes a while to wilt down. This soup was absolutely delicious, and is now in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Had my doubts but it was great. Did add more beans and hot sauce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Loved this soup! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious. Everyon loved it, even the "green" haters. The Kale was very mild and next time I think I will use 3 cups instead of 2. I think it would be great with some sauteed ground turkey too. Love using the fresh herbs, fresh always make for a richer flavor. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
So delicious! I made this recipe almost following the recipe to the letter, making a tiny change or two. The broth is one of the few that I have made following a recipe and had it come out flavorful and not too salty - the person who wrote it did a fabulous job. The fresh herbs are so aromatic and tasty, it makes me never want to used dried versions again! The few changes I did make was to add a little more wine to make it less like a stew, and I undercooked the kale a bit to retain some more nutrients. At the very end, i added a splash of heavy cream, and voila! FANTASTIC RECIPE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Elizabeth Monts

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
As written, this is very bland. Believe it or not, it needs salt! My kids wouldn't eat it, so I should have made it more spicy from the beginning (and I used a Thai chili with the seeds). If I make it again, I will use more herbs, or maybe use dried herbs, which have more concentrated flavor than fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I did the recipe as described using all fresh herbs, but I added one link of hot turkey sausage and one link of mild turkey sausage while cooking the onions. Also during step where you cook the potatoes I added done sliced mushrooms. When I added the kale, I added about and extra half of cup since it didn't look like enough and added another 1/2 cup of chicken broth to balance it out. This with a baguette is an amazing meal when I'm home with a bad cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
OMG ....This is awesome. I was skepticle because it didn't have the many extra ingridients I always add to my minestrone recipes. I thought ...."where will the flavor come from????" To my surprise it was totally amazing! I often hunt for vegan recipes that have protein for my 21 yr old vegan daughter. this is a keeper. I did substitute diced tomatoes for the wine and red pepper flakes for the peppers. there was definetly a kick to the bite. next time I will add an extra can of beans and one less potato at my daughters request. I had never used kale before. I used the whole bunch chopped up the leaves andboy oh boy, it has lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suelizza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! Its fun to prepare and absolutely delicious. The flavor is perfection! Not to mention how healthy it is! My husband tried it, and said it was amazing! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Oh my god this is good. I don't know much about cooking, but my wife is very good. this blew both of us away. Rod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seldomhome

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
very good - loved it - be careful with the chili however can make it too hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States