Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of Kale. I used more chicken broth (homemade) instead of adding water. Used canned diced tomatoes like some other reviewers instead of white wine. Used dried herbs instead of fresh. I didn't double the cannellin beans though and instead put some diced chicken breast. I added some peppercorns while cooking. I didn't find it spicy enough, so when I ate it I added some hot pepper flakes. Maybe if the initial hot peppers were in from earlier on it would have given some more kick.Pretty good recipe, though I think with Italian saugage or bacon it would have even been a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is one of my favorite soups. Instead of water and wine, I swap it out with organic chicken broth. For a lower carb option, I use cauliflower instead of potatoes. Organic spinach can be swapped out for the kale, too, if you'd prefer. If I have it, I like to add chopped red peppers or mushrooms, too. To make it creamy, just add a 1/4 cup of fat free half-n-half or evaporated milk. I like to garnish this soup just a touch of fresh shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This soup is very good and healthy. I grew kale in my garden this year and wanted to use it. My husband and oldest son both ate it which is great since it has nutritious kale in it! The only thing I did differently was use beef stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Really good, really filling soup. I like that this recipe can easily be adapted for whatever may be on hand without compromising taste. One of the tastier variations I've tried included browned turkey smoked sausage and diced sweet potatoes (instead of white). Also, to add a little more 'body' to the soup, puree a second can of beans (or its equivalent of cooked) with a bit of broth then stir into the soup. Perfect for a chilly evening... thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
very good soup, I doubled the amount of beans and added Portuguese chourico to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefChan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great stuff. I, too, switched the order of the potatoes and the kale. I used a jalapeno instead of a chili pepper, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
very good. i added ground turkey to the mix too. reminded me of a version of wedding soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I love this soup. I have already made it twice. I smoke some Italian sausage and add that in to the soup. I have done things a little different each time. It is a flexible recipe that you can improvise as you wish. Also one time I used butter beans rather than cannellini beans and it was surprisingly good. I think I usually use 1 cup less water, substituting the other cup for anything else more flavorful than water (ie: chicken broth, wine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Great soup! Instructions were perfect, be sure to finely chop the Kale. I may add some Kielbasa browned with the onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My family loved this! I did double some of the veggies - I used two onions and 2 cans of cannellini beans and 1 cup of diced carrots...it was very yummy! My five year old and nine year old ate two bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccatwoodland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States