Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This soup was good. I didn't find it phenomenal, nor did I find kale to be the star that I expected in this. The kids ate it, but I could tell it wasn't their favorite thing I've ever made, and they're pretty good eaters. I added some chopped cauliflower and ground turkey to bulk this out, and it ended up making a huge pot. After adding liberal amounts of salt and Mrs. Dash, I still found this lacking in something I couldn't quite put my finger on. Cheese came to mind, but since I was making this to be healthy, I resisted. For the same reason I did not add any cream or milk, which also seemed like it might be good. After dinner, I added some chicken bouillon, which granted, added even more salt, but gave this soup the "umph" it needed. All in all, a solid soup, but I will probably look elsewhere next time I'm in the mood for soup. Which I won't be for awhile, because this made enough to feed us for a week! My only other thing with this soup is that, even with the colorful veggies, it doesn't strike me as a "pretty" soup, not very good potluck fare - which is unfortunate because it really is very healthy. However, I would pass this up at a buffet table in favor of other dishes. And I would be missing out on some pretty decent soup, I can see how a little cream and sausage rather than plain ground turkey would have made this a really great soup. Hmm... maybe I will have to give it one more go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a delicious soup. I make it like ham and bean soup--substituting Great Northern beans and adding diced ham and ham hocks. It is a fall and winter favorite for a cold evening, and is great with either some crusty bread or cornbread. My guests rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Cornelius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
SOOOOO good! I threw in some mushrooms and some bacon (because I had some left over).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mookow1810
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great soup! I changed a few things and it still came out really well. I used more chicken broth, used sweet potatoes instead and omitted the pepper. It still came out great. super healthy bowl of soup perfect for the cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent - easy to make and adapt. Can use Swiss Chard or Spinach for the Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Amazing, truly amazing! I added the kale at the same time as the other veggies, since I figured they'd all be cooking for a while, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of Kale. I used more chicken broth (homemade) instead of adding water. Used canned diced tomatoes like some other reviewers instead of white wine. Used dried herbs instead of fresh. I didn't double the cannellin beans though and instead put some diced chicken breast. I added some peppercorns while cooking. I didn't find it spicy enough, so when I ate it I added some hot pepper flakes. Maybe if the initial hot peppers were in from earlier on it would have given some more kick.Pretty good recipe, though I think with Italian saugage or bacon it would have even been a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is one of my favorite soups. Instead of water and wine, I swap it out with organic chicken broth. For a lower carb option, I use cauliflower instead of potatoes. Organic spinach can be swapped out for the kale, too, if you'd prefer. If I have it, I like to add chopped red peppers or mushrooms, too. To make it creamy, just add a 1/4 cup of fat free half-n-half or evaporated milk. I like to garnish this soup just a touch of fresh shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This soup is very good and healthy. I grew kale in my garden this year and wanted to use it. My husband and oldest son both ate it which is great since it has nutritious kale in it! The only thing I did differently was use beef stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Really good, really filling soup. I like that this recipe can easily be adapted for whatever may be on hand without compromising taste. One of the tastier variations I've tried included browned turkey smoked sausage and diced sweet potatoes (instead of white). Also, to add a little more 'body' to the soup, puree a second can of beans (or its equivalent of cooked) with a bit of broth then stir into the soup. Perfect for a chilly evening... thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States