Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this tonight and made some changes. I added one can of chopped tomatoes, half a white onion and one shallot and 1 teaspoon of salt. When I tasted it before adding the tomatoes and salt it was bland for my taste. Also, instead of adding a red chile, I added chile flakes to the soup. It was good and a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Not overly flavorful, but it tasted fresh and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe!! The flavors were amazing. The only thing that I will change next time is that I may put the potatos in in the last 20 minutes so that they keep some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKYWOOWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This quickly became my favorite soup, and I crave it all the time! My husband made a few changes though - because we're vegetarian he switched the chicken broth to vegetable broth, and he also adds corn. Also we couldn't find the right beans so we use navy beans. Mmmmmm this is the best recipe on this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Excellent. We have been making this regularliy for quite some time now. Thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner and it was really good! I made a few small changes though because I thought it was a bit bland as is. I added some chopped chicken breast because I like my soup with more bulk. Next time I will try some sausage like other reviewers did. Sausage would perfectly compliment this soup! I also skipped adding water and instead added more broth and white wine. To kick up the spicing, I threw in a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and 2 teaspoons of piri piri spice mix (in this mix is dried Bird's Eye chili, onion, paprika, sea salt, pepper, garlic, and cow's parsley). Wow, it added just the right amount of heat! It wasn't overpowering, but it left a nice warm feeling after every bite. I'll be honest and say that I didn't follow the cooking times as stated. It didn't make sense to me to cook the potatoes until tender and THEN add the other ingredients. I just threw everything in the pot at once and it was all done to perfection in about 40-45 minutes. I will definitely be making this again as everyone in my family really liked it. My oldest daughter (11 years old) devoured a whole bowl in just a few minutes! Thanks for the great recipe Chris & Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I added mushrooms which "beefed" it up a little. (just because I had them in the house) I also used all stock instead of water. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent! I did modify just a little- I added a packet of Goya Ham seasoning. This soup is perfect for a winters day- it's warm and cozy and yummy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used white kidney beans and jalapeno instead what the recipe called for... delicious and used a pinot grigio (italian) .. will upload photo soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Liked this more than the rest of my family. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States