Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I loveee this recipe, since first seeing it i've made it quite a few times for family and in laws. I love it, everyone I make it for oves it! My favourite thing about this soup is that it's so easy to swip and swap and substitute ingredients. I just use what ever I have in the fridge. I change the beans to what ever ones I have in the cupboard at the time I have used borlotti beans, butter beans, chick peas and kidney beans on occasions. I ALWAYS add a can or two of chopped tomatoes it just really brings out all the flavors and adds a great colour. I agree with other people who said to leave the potatoes near to the end, they just go horribly mushy and dissolve otherwise. I use chicken stock cubes and dried herbs because I never have any broth or fresh herbs around when I need them I have also like to give it a little kick by adding either cayenne pepper, tabasco or chilli flakes. I haves used courgettes and spinach in replace of kale. I have also made with out the wine on occasion and its just as tasty. I will be making this soup for years to come. Thank you for such a great tasting, healthy and flexible recipe. ....I really want to try making it with some chorizo in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Róisín Bernard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written. Doubled it and froze it in containers. I had to try a bowl first!!! So delicious. Definately wouldm make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was so simple and delicious. I'm going to put this into my soup rotation. Both my husband and I call it a keeper. Thanks for the recipe Chris and Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome recipe. I made this last night. I made it exactly as directed and it was delicious. Got great reviews from my husband as well. Easy way to enjoy healthy vegetables like kale and so tasty and filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very good and healthy soup. The only things I changed were I added marjoram instead of sage just kind of last minute decision, I used 2 leeks instead of an onion and I didn't have a chili pepper (I guess I could have added chili powder but I didn't think of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I added left over ham to this dish also. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Soup was good and healthy. I did use regular chicken broth instead of low sodium -and still had to add a little salt to give it more flavor. Also, threw some turkey sausage pieces at the end for a little extra protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was quite good, but needed extra. I would add salt to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great Soup !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this tonight and made some changes. I added one can of chopped tomatoes, half a white onion and one shallot and 1 teaspoon of salt. When I tasted it before adding the tomatoes and salt it was bland for my taste. Also, instead of adding a red chile, I added chile flakes to the soup. It was good and a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States