Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I left out the white wine and added an extra cup of chicken broth (4 cups total). I also added more kale (3+cups) and a stalk of celery. The herbs smell and taste delicious! I used new potatoes, quartered and I used half a habanero pepper (de-seeded) It adds a nice tingle to my lips! Man is this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncgne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
A little lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy T - Valrico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Really enjoyed this soup, the wine adds richness to the flavors. Better the 2nd, 3rd, 4th day! :) Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Delicious! I had every ingredient but the cannellini beans. Added leftover chicken and a handful of green beans picked fresh from the garden. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I loveee this recipe, since first seeing it i've made it quite a few times for family and in laws. I love it, everyone I make it for oves it! My favourite thing about this soup is that it's so easy to swip and swap and substitute ingredients. I just use what ever I have in the fridge. I change the beans to what ever ones I have in the cupboard at the time I have used borlotti beans, butter beans, chick peas and kidney beans on occasions. I ALWAYS add a can or two of chopped tomatoes it just really brings out all the flavors and adds a great colour. I agree with other people who said to leave the potatoes near to the end, they just go horribly mushy and dissolve otherwise. I use chicken stock cubes and dried herbs because I never have any broth or fresh herbs around when I need them I have also like to give it a little kick by adding either cayenne pepper, tabasco or chilli flakes. I haves used courgettes and spinach in replace of kale. I have also made with out the wine on occasion and its just as tasty. I will be making this soup for years to come. Thank you for such a great tasting, healthy and flexible recipe. ....I really want to try making it with some chorizo in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Róisín Bernard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written. Doubled it and froze it in containers. I had to try a bowl first!!! So delicious. Definately wouldm make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was so simple and delicious. I'm going to put this into my soup rotation. Both my husband and I call it a keeper. Thanks for the recipe Chris and Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome recipe. I made this last night. I made it exactly as directed and it was delicious. Got great reviews from my husband as well. Easy way to enjoy healthy vegetables like kale and so tasty and filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very good and healthy soup. The only things I changed were I added marjoram instead of sage just kind of last minute decision, I used 2 leeks instead of an onion and I didn't have a chili pepper (I guess I could have added chili powder but I didn't think of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I added left over ham to this dish also. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States