Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good recipe! Thank you. I make a soup similar to this using 1/2 lb. Italian sausage or 1/4 lb. chopped pancetta. I use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of wine since the soup is good without it. A 1/2 cup of chopped celery is a good addition; I do not use the chile pepper. Spinach can be used instead of kale, as noted by another reviewer. If you want a thicker soup, mash a few beans against the side of the pot and stir before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Going to make this in just a couple days. I agree with another reviewer it is obvious that the meat was forgotten when this recipe was submitted. Looks like it has ground beef in it. I will make it with ground turkey or chicken. It looks yummy and I can't wait to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have always loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Guys, your recipe is EXCELLENT as-is, and was also fantastic in giving me inspiration for a vegetarian version of Portuguese Kale Soup (Caldo Verde) as your recipe already has many elements of that soup. So, using your recipe, the second time I made a vegetarian version of Portuguese Kale Soup/Caldo Verde, and that was also excellent. I made this soup as Chris&Kelly prescribe with substituting 4 cups vegetable broth instead of 3 cups chicken broth, and I added a total of 4 cups chopped Kale instead of just 2 cups (please include/don't waste the chopped tender kale stems with leaves!). And lastly, the key to Caldo Verde is the flavor of Linguica, or Chorizo sausage, so add a package of "Soyrizo" - lightly sauteed in olive oil, with an extra clove of garlic & a little more chopped onion (Melissa's brand is what I have in the Albany NY area ... very good as a vegetarian chorizo/linguica soyment substitute that works well for soups and even chiles. It doesn't have the texture or real linguica or chorizo, but the flavor is very good). Note that it is a spicy product, so you may want to taste for spices before adding that small red chile pepper that is called for in this recipe. Either way, go for it as this is a fabulous soup recipe in any season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great Soup! But I'm giving it 4 stars because the recipe timing should be flipped -- the kale needs to cook longer than 20 min and should be put in before the potatoes and beans or they become mushy and overcooked. (I used canned beans.) Just flip the last two instructions and make a great hearty soup. I also added a little parmesan cheese to each bowl before serving and also added beef kelbasa (sp?) when I added the beans and potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This soup is great: savory, tasty, and warming without being too heavy. My self-proclaimed soup hating boyfriend polished off three bowls and took another for his lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing this great and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy Ainslie
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I used spinach because the kale was out at the store. I also added 1/2 lb sweet Italian chicken sausage. Turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I changed a few things and my pot was practically licked clean by my family and guests. I cut some bacon into small pieces and cooked it- removed it and then cooked the onion with the olive oil and bacon drippings. Everything else in the recipe remains unchanged until the end when I added the bacon back in with about 1 1/2 cups of half and half. DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was great soup...I followed recipe exactly, but added a little more kale than it called for, and also sauteed one link of turkey kielbasa sausage with the onion. This was the perfect compliment to an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made some changes, mostly because I didn't have everything in the kitchen. Subbed garbanzo beans for the white beans, which ended up giving some nice texture. I had parsnips (yum!) instead of carrots, so I added a can of tomatoes for the color. And because tomatoes make everything tasty. Subbed a bay leaf because my sage plant died. :( Didn't have chicken broth so instead I used water with a couple tablespoons of soy sauce and a dash of Worcestershire. Kept the wine in and I'm so glad - it added a nice depth and sharpness to the soup. This cooked up quickly and was a beautiful and delicious soup for a chilly, rainy winter evening. Nice and forgiving recipe - one to keep and play around with depending on what's in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States