Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was fabulous just as written. Used crushed red pepper (didn't have a chile pepper) and added smoked sausage (we love meat in soup)! Hubby is begging for me to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hooper Danner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is an inexpensive but delicious soup. I sometimes add a little bit of ham, but it is just as good without the ham. It has made me a fan of kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Used different broth, beans, greens and wine and it still turned out great! Healthy and yummy. Will make again and again all different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
made it yesterday-- very good [ though a little bitter ]. i used vegetable broth in lieu of chick broth, because i am a vegetarian; not sure how to counter the slight bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Wonderful Soup- Have made this for many years and has been a family favorite for our cold New England nights. I will occasionally throw in left over baked Kielbasa (chopped) or some crumbled browned italian sausage. Some great rustic bread and you got a great meal to warm you up on those cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very yummy and such a savory. I loved it. I threw a can of green/yellow mixed beans in it as well. I sliced the potatoes pretty thin and they cooked really quickly. It had so many flavors and great taste. I was pleasantly surprised. Great way to make use of kale, which I love...and great source of protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome soup! Opened my email this morning to find this recipe in my mailbox. I had everything on hand except for the kale, ran out for that and the rest is history. I followed the recipe with the addition of a few slices of bacon that I chopped up and browned with the onion in the first step. Even with the use of dried herbs (my herb garden is under several inches of snow!) the flavors are exceptional. My 12 y.o. daughter couldn't get enough of this amazing stuff. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Yum....can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight. I skipped the wine and added an extra cup of chicken broth. I added italian sausage and red pepper flakes for extra spice. I didn't have potatoes on hand, so I added 1 cup of Quinoa instead which upped the protein in this dish alot. I wasn't crazy about the rosemary "needles" because there seemed like a lot, other than that it was awesome! I served it with a piece of provolone cheese cut up in the bowl - will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sullysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
VERY GOOD AS ARE THE REVIEWS. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL VERISONS OF THIS SOUP/STEW. IT HELPS TO USE FROZEN KALE ET AL GREENS . THE 2&1/2 PACKAGES IN WHOLE SALE CLUBS OR RESTURANT SUPPLY STORES . ALMOST ANY TYPE OF STURDY GREEN WORK. CHICK PEA'S TO OR ANY OTHER TYPE, DRY ARE BEST. BEEF STOCK GOOD . ANY TYPE MEAT CHICKEN , & PASTA ALSO, FOR A CHANGE. I ALWAYS ADD VINGAR TO ALMOST EVERYTHING I MAKE. EVERY THING YOU ADD MAKE'S IT BETTER. LEFT OVERS GREAT. IF YOU CHANGE IT EACH TIME YOU REHEAT IT . VAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald Van Every

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wonky Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very delish! I had to add chopped cooked chicken breast since my hubby wants meat for dinner. I did cook the chopped kale in a bit of butter with some minced onions and chew tested to make sure the kale was well cooked. I think you could add or omit ingredients and this soup would still be wonderfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonky Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States