Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Delish! I didn't add the hot pepper because I wanted my toddler to eat it, and it was still delicious. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariabea
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good soup! Made this for dinner tonight and both hubby and I loved it. I added an extra 2 cups of water and added salt. I didn't use the chili pepper. I also simmered it longer than stated in the recipe.... We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would give this recipe 3.5 stars. I added twice the amount of kale, some pinches of salt to taste and a tablespoon of red wine vinegar. The recipe was very nice and quite savory. Went well with a nice multigrain baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I doubled the kale and beans (used a 6 bean mix). It was alright but I found the broth somewhat bland. I added a teaspoon of light cream cheese to my bowl and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I don't eat kale nearly as often as I should, but that's because until now, I did not know how to cook it! I enjoyed this recipe very much--I was even able to get my carnivore husband to eat some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I'd made this recipes several times. I think it's wonderfully flavorful & is one of my go to autumn soups. I've always made it vegetarian by substituting veggie broth instead of chicken. Other changes include using dried herbs instead of fresh (and plenty of them!) and red pepper flakes instead of the fresh chile. At this point i don't measure anything and often add more veggies & broth to stretch it further. Last thing i'll mention, as another reviewer has as well: don't skip the white wine! I did once and it just didn't have the same oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a great recipe it makes lots be sure and make exact to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This soup was great! Unlike almost everyone who rated this, I made no changes to the recipe and couldn't have been more pleased with result! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Delicious, loved it! I wanted a thicker soup so, before i added the beans I put 3/4 of the potato and carrot mixure into the blender. I omitted the chile pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
What a great soup! It's my first time cooking kale so I was a bit timid about the whole exercise. Also, I used dried beans (white northerner - couldn't find dried cannellini at the store). Someone on this site suggested adding one can chopped tomatoes with chilis and I did that too. Didn't have a red chili pepper on hand so used chili powder to taste. Also just a quick squeeze of lemon to bring all of the flavors out. Very good soup - the sort I normally wouldn't try because it looks too healthy (gasp!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States