Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I've made substitutions in the recipe and those are what "make it" for me! Instead of the fresh herbs, I used 1 tsp. each of the dried rosemary, sage and thyme. If you decide to use the fresh, increase the amounts, "to taste". I also seasoned with salt & pepper which the recipe doesn't call for. Sometimes it's hard to find a small red chili pepper (which is very hot and you should wear gloves when chopping)and so I found a "chili pepper paste in a tube in the cold section where they keep the fresh herbs etc. and I use a tsp. of that. Making it in this way I get rave reviews and everyone wants the recipe! I love this soup! I loved it the first time I made it but I also remember "making it my own" by seasoning it up to my liking. Most recipes are not going to come out "perfect". They are going to have to be adjusted to each ones individual tastes and that means more or less seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
We love this soup! The only changes that I made were adding black beans as I did not have cannellini beans and adding one serano chili minced with the garlic as many husband likes heat.I also added one handful of quinua for protein. Also, my home grown kale only takes 5 minutes to cook. Delicious. Thank you for the delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I added spinach and turkey meatballs and this soup was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbeck433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made it exact to recipe except no potatoes or carrots and I added browned ground turkey. Splash of extra wine. My husband made all kinds of yummy sounds. Delicious. Cooked 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I absolutely love this soup. I did make a few changes though. For example, I added one can of diced tomatoes. Instead of the chili Pepper, I added 1 teaspoon of red pepper flake and 1 teaspoon of table salt. Finally I heated up a Kielbasa sausage in a flat iron pan for approximately 10 minutes. I then chop the sausage up into small pieces And put it in with the soup and let it all simmer for an additional 25 minutes. In my opinion, in order to get the full flavor of the kale, you have to cook it much longer then what was posted in this recipe. Otherwise this is a wonderful recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I found the sage , Rosemary and thyme gave this soup a very unpleasant flavour. I followed the recipe exact. Sorry. Not for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Richard
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I always add spicy Italian sausage. I also add the cannellini beans at the beginning because I find the canned beans are not tender enough. We eat this at least once per month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Delicious. We are a vegetarian household, so I substituted veg broth for both the chicken broth and the wine. (We don't drink alcohol.) Followed rest of recipe as is, except for using a sprinkle of dried crushed red pepper instead of a fresh chile pepper. And dried herbs for fresh, as fresh was not available. I believe that these minor changes kept the integrity of the recipe. It was SO good. Serve with hot bread for dunking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racedogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Delish! I didn't add the hot pepper because I wanted my toddler to eat it, and it was still delicious. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariabea
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good soup! Made this for dinner tonight and both hubby and I loved it. I added an extra 2 cups of water and added salt. I didn't use the chili pepper. I also simmered it longer than stated in the recipe.... We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States