Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great soup. I definitely needed to add some salt. I have been thinking about how healthy kale is and wondering how I would ever fit it into our diet. This will be a regular. Who knew I could get my family to eat kale! Thanks for a super healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe yielded a flavorful soup without too much effort. It is an easy mid-week recipe. I omitted the red chile and it was still very tasty. I used red kale and it turned out to be very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My hb and I had never had kale before, but kept reading how healthy it is for you. We gave this recipe a try and it was so flavorful and easy. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. So easy and yummy! I did make a few alterations to suit my taste. I doubled the garlic (love it!), used all chicken broth (again, my preference), added more kale (to up the nutrition content) and omitted the chile pepper (my 2 y.o. was eating it too so I didn't want the heat). I also added browned ground turkey for some extra protein. As for the kale, I did not sautee before adding to the soup (as another reviewer did) but I did add it before the potatoes to give it time to cook down. I will definitely do that again because the potatoes in this soup can fall apart and the kale takes a while to wilt down. This soup was absolutely delicious, and is now in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Had my doubts but it was great. Did add more beans and hot sauce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Loved this soup! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious. Everyon loved it, even the "green" haters. The Kale was very mild and next time I think I will use 3 cups instead of 2. I think it would be great with some sauteed ground turkey too. Love using the fresh herbs, fresh always make for a richer flavor. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
So delicious! I made this recipe almost following the recipe to the letter, making a tiny change or two. The broth is one of the few that I have made following a recipe and had it come out flavorful and not too salty - the person who wrote it did a fabulous job. The fresh herbs are so aromatic and tasty, it makes me never want to used dried versions again! The few changes I did make was to add a little more wine to make it less like a stew, and I undercooked the kale a bit to retain some more nutrients. At the very end, i added a splash of heavy cream, and voila! FANTASTIC RECIPE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
As written, this is very bland. Believe it or not, it needs salt! My kids wouldn't eat it, so I should have made it more spicy from the beginning (and I used a Thai chili with the seeds). If I make it again, I will use more herbs, or maybe use dried herbs, which have more concentrated flavor than fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I did the recipe as described using all fresh herbs, but I added one link of hot turkey sausage and one link of mild turkey sausage while cooking the onions. Also during step where you cook the potatoes I added done sliced mushrooms. When I added the kale, I added about and extra half of cup since it didn't look like enough and added another 1/2 cup of chicken broth to balance it out. This with a baguette is an amazing meal when I'm home with a bad cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
OMG ....This is awesome. I was skepticle because it didn't have the many extra ingridients I always add to my minestrone recipes. I thought ...."where will the flavor come from????" To my surprise it was totally amazing! I often hunt for vegan recipes that have protein for my 21 yr old vegan daughter. this is a keeper. I did substitute diced tomatoes for the wine and red pepper flakes for the peppers. there was definetly a kick to the bite. next time I will add an extra can of beans and one less potato at my daughters request. I had never used kale before. I used the whole bunch chopped up the leaves andboy oh boy, it has lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suelizza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States