Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe!! The flavors were amazing. The only thing that I will change next time is that I may put the potatos in in the last 20 minutes so that they keep some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKYWOOWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This quickly became my favorite soup, and I crave it all the time! My husband made a few changes though - because we're vegetarian he switched the chicken broth to vegetable broth, and he also adds corn. Also we couldn't find the right beans so we use navy beans. Mmmmmm this is the best recipe on this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Excellent. We have been making this regularliy for quite some time now. Thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner and it was really good! I made a few small changes though because I thought it was a bit bland as is. I added some chopped chicken breast because I like my soup with more bulk. Next time I will try some sausage like other reviewers did. Sausage would perfectly compliment this soup! I also skipped adding water and instead added more broth and white wine. To kick up the spicing, I threw in a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and 2 teaspoons of piri piri spice mix (in this mix is dried Bird's Eye chili, onion, paprika, sea salt, pepper, garlic, and cow's parsley). Wow, it added just the right amount of heat! It wasn't overpowering, but it left a nice warm feeling after every bite. I'll be honest and say that I didn't follow the cooking times as stated. It didn't make sense to me to cook the potatoes until tender and THEN add the other ingredients. I just threw everything in the pot at once and it was all done to perfection in about 40-45 minutes. I will definitely be making this again as everyone in my family really liked it. My oldest daughter (11 years old) devoured a whole bowl in just a few minutes! Thanks for the great recipe Chris & Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I added mushrooms which "beefed" it up a little. (just because I had them in the house) I also used all stock instead of water. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent! I did modify just a little- I added a packet of Goya Ham seasoning. This soup is perfect for a winters day- it's warm and cozy and yummy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used white kidney beans and jalapeno instead what the recipe called for... delicious and used a pinot grigio (italian) .. will upload photo soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Liked this more than the rest of my family. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This soup was good. I didn't find it phenomenal, nor did I find kale to be the star that I expected in this. The kids ate it, but I could tell it wasn't their favorite thing I've ever made, and they're pretty good eaters. I added some chopped cauliflower and ground turkey to bulk this out, and it ended up making a huge pot. After adding liberal amounts of salt and Mrs. Dash, I still found this lacking in something I couldn't quite put my finger on. Cheese came to mind, but since I was making this to be healthy, I resisted. For the same reason I did not add any cream or milk, which also seemed like it might be good. After dinner, I added some chicken bouillon, which granted, added even more salt, but gave this soup the "umph" it needed. All in all, a solid soup, but I will probably look elsewhere next time I'm in the mood for soup. Which I won't be for awhile, because this made enough to feed us for a week! My only other thing with this soup is that, even with the colorful veggies, it doesn't strike me as a "pretty" soup, not very good potluck fare - which is unfortunate because it really is very healthy. However, I would pass this up at a buffet table in favor of other dishes. And I would be missing out on some pretty decent soup, I can see how a little cream and sausage rather than plain ground turkey would have made this a really great soup. Hmm... maybe I will have to give it one more go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a delicious soup. I make it like ham and bean soup--substituting Great Northern beans and adding diced ham and ham hocks. It is a fall and winter favorite for a cold evening, and is great with either some crusty bread or cornbread. My guests rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Cornelius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States