Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Kristy Ainslie
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I used spinach because the kale was out at the store. I also added 1/2 lb sweet Italian chicken sausage. Turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I changed a few things and my pot was practically licked clean by my family and guests. I cut some bacon into small pieces and cooked it- removed it and then cooked the onion with the olive oil and bacon drippings. Everything else in the recipe remains unchanged until the end when I added the bacon back in with about 1 1/2 cups of half and half. DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was great soup...I followed recipe exactly, but added a little more kale than it called for, and also sauteed one link of turkey kielbasa sausage with the onion. This was the perfect compliment to an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made some changes, mostly because I didn't have everything in the kitchen. Subbed garbanzo beans for the white beans, which ended up giving some nice texture. I had parsnips (yum!) instead of carrots, so I added a can of tomatoes for the color. And because tomatoes make everything tasty. Subbed a bay leaf because my sage plant died. :( Didn't have chicken broth so instead I used water with a couple tablespoons of soy sauce and a dash of Worcestershire. Kept the wine in and I'm so glad - it added a nice depth and sharpness to the soup. This cooked up quickly and was a beautiful and delicious soup for a chilly, rainy winter evening. Nice and forgiving recipe - one to keep and play around with depending on what's in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I used more carrots and kale than it called for (doubled), as I like a hearty soup and used veggie broth instead of chicken to make it vegetarian. It was really, really good! DO NOT SKIMP on the wine - it absolutely makes the flavor of the soup! Thanks for this tasty recipe - will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Delicious! Other than doubling the recipe, I omitted the chile pepper (since this is for a 2 yr old too), added a little sausage, and some sea salt, since I used homemade unsalted chicken broth. I reserved half of the garlic and added at the very end, to get the most of its amazing health properties. I used Pinot Grigio wine (I keep the mini 4-pks around for cooking) and it gives the soup a new dimension. Oh, and I put about 75% of the soup in a blender, and then mixed them together to give this a creamy bean-potato base. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Had guests over tonite and they left with the recipe. I added crushed red pepper flakes b/c I didn't have the chile and they sd it was just the right amount of spice. Only had 2 potatoes and doubled the broth amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm the first reviewer to make this recipe exactly as written, and it is delicious. I'm sure the additions noted would also be good, but as-is, this is a hearty, healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Added summer sausage when cooking the onions, this is a great hardy soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Added polish sausage with the onions. Thought it was a great, comforting, hardy, tastey soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States