Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very yummy and such a savory. I loved it. I threw a can of green/yellow mixed beans in it as well. I sliced the potatoes pretty thin and they cooked really quickly. It had so many flavors and great taste. I was pleasantly surprised. Great way to make use of kale, which I love...and great source of protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome soup! Opened my email this morning to find this recipe in my mailbox. I had everything on hand except for the kale, ran out for that and the rest is history. I followed the recipe with the addition of a few slices of bacon that I chopped up and browned with the onion in the first step. Even with the use of dried herbs (my herb garden is under several inches of snow!) the flavors are exceptional. My 12 y.o. daughter couldn't get enough of this amazing stuff. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Yum....can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight. I skipped the wine and added an extra cup of chicken broth. I added italian sausage and red pepper flakes for extra spice. I didn't have potatoes on hand, so I added 1 cup of Quinoa instead which upped the protein in this dish alot. I wasn't crazy about the rosemary "needles" because there seemed like a lot, other than that it was awesome! I served it with a piece of provolone cheese cut up in the bowl - will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sullysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
VERY GOOD AS ARE THE REVIEWS. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL VERISONS OF THIS SOUP/STEW. IT HELPS TO USE FROZEN KALE ET AL GREENS . THE 2&1/2 PACKAGES IN WHOLE SALE CLUBS OR RESTURANT SUPPLY STORES . ALMOST ANY TYPE OF STURDY GREEN WORK. CHICK PEA'S TO OR ANY OTHER TYPE, DRY ARE BEST. BEEF STOCK GOOD . ANY TYPE MEAT CHICKEN , & PASTA ALSO, FOR A CHANGE. I ALWAYS ADD VINGAR TO ALMOST EVERYTHING I MAKE. EVERY THING YOU ADD MAKE'S IT BETTER. LEFT OVERS GREAT. IF YOU CHANGE IT EACH TIME YOU REHEAT IT . VAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wonkygirl
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very delish! I had to add chopped cooked chicken breast since my hubby wants meat for dinner. I did cook the chopped kale in a bit of butter with some minced onions and chew tested to make sure the kale was well cooked. I think you could add or omit ingredients and this soup would still be wonderfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
At a Portuguese Restaurant I had a soup very like this. It also had chorizo sausage. I have duplicated it but also used Italian turkey sausage (hot for those who like spicy, or mild sausage for those who do not)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edenton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good recipe! Thank you. I make a soup similar to this using 1/2 lb. Italian sausage or 1/4 lb. chopped pancetta. I use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of wine since the soup is good without it. A 1/2 cup of chopped celery is a good addition; I do not use the chile pepper. Spinach can be used instead of kale, as noted by another reviewer. If you want a thicker soup, mash a few beans against the side of the pot and stir before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Going to make this in just a couple days. I agree with another reviewer it is obvious that the meat was forgotten when this recipe was submitted. Looks like it has ground beef in it. I will make it with ground turkey or chicken. It looks yummy and I can't wait to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have always loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Guys, your recipe is EXCELLENT as-is, and was also fantastic in giving me inspiration for a vegetarian version of Portuguese Kale Soup (Caldo Verde) as your recipe already has many elements of that soup. So, using your recipe, the second time I made a vegetarian version of Portuguese Kale Soup/Caldo Verde, and that was also excellent. I made this soup as Chris&Kelly prescribe with substituting 4 cups vegetable broth instead of 3 cups chicken broth, and I added a total of 4 cups chopped Kale instead of just 2 cups (please include/don't waste the chopped tender kale stems with leaves!). And lastly, the key to Caldo Verde is the flavor of Linguica, or Chorizo sausage, so add a package of "Soyrizo" - lightly sauteed in olive oil, with an extra clove of garlic & a little more chopped onion (Melissa's brand is what I have in the Albany NY area ... very good as a vegetarian chorizo/linguica soyment substitute that works well for soups and even chiles. It doesn't have the texture or real linguica or chorizo, but the flavor is very good). Note that it is a spicy product, so you may want to taste for spices before adding that small red chile pepper that is called for in this recipe. Either way, go for it as this is a fabulous soup recipe in any season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States