Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
yummy!!! i didn't follow the recipe exactly, simply because I didn't have all the ingredients or all the right amounts on hand. nevertheless, this is a great starter recipe with a really yummy flavor. I used tabasco instead of the chili, and I really like the flavor it added to the soup. Unlike any other soup I've had. Plus it's super cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Just fininshed making this soup and it came out great! It's rare that I have all the ingredients on hand, so that made it even better! I did add smoked sausage kielbasa to the recipe and probably more kale than the recipe called for. I did think it could have used some salt which I added. Topped my bowl with Parmesan cheese and a drizzle of evoo. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I substituted vegetable stock for the chicken broth and it was yummy. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was fabulous just as written. Used crushed red pepper (didn't have a chile pepper) and added smoked sausage (we love meat in soup)! Hubby is begging for me to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hooper Danner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is an inexpensive but delicious soup. I sometimes add a little bit of ham, but it is just as good without the ham. It has made me a fan of kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Used different broth, beans, greens and wine and it still turned out great! Healthy and yummy. Will make again and again all different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
made it yesterday-- very good [ though a little bitter ]. i used vegetable broth in lieu of chick broth, because i am a vegetarian; not sure how to counter the slight bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Wonderful Soup- Have made this for many years and has been a family favorite for our cold New England nights. I will occasionally throw in left over baked Kielbasa (chopped) or some crumbled browned italian sausage. Some great rustic bread and you got a great meal to warm you up on those cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very yummy and such a savory. I loved it. I threw a can of green/yellow mixed beans in it as well. I sliced the potatoes pretty thin and they cooked really quickly. It had so many flavors and great taste. I was pleasantly surprised. Great way to make use of kale, which I love...and great source of protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome soup! Opened my email this morning to find this recipe in my mailbox. I had everything on hand except for the kale, ran out for that and the rest is history. I followed the recipe with the addition of a few slices of bacon that I chopped up and browned with the onion in the first step. Even with the use of dried herbs (my herb garden is under several inches of snow!) the flavors are exceptional. My 12 y.o. daughter couldn't get enough of this amazing stuff. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Yum....can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States