Savory Italian Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was a Great Sauce!!! I used italian link sausage, sliced and browned with the garlic. I used portabella mushrooms because that is what I had. I used 1/4 cup of wine and 3/4 cup water. I used less wine because I only had red cooking wine and I know it is stronger and saltier then regular red wine.Update- I made this again and had everything except used Italian diced tomatoes and got brave and used the half cup of Red cooking wine and it was super - It makes the perfect amount of sauce. Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This sauce rocks! I followed the recipe to a "T" (doubled) - except for the simmering step, I threw it all in the crockpot on low for several hours. SO Delicious! We will be making this sauce often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
My family LOVED this sauce,it will be a favorite.I followed it exactly except I used hot Italian sauage and no need for red pepper flakes.Thanks to Staci for suggesting the crockpot. Thanks for the recipe Carliey. Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I loved this sauce. Perfect amount of spice for me - I made it exactly as the recipe said and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years (handed down Italian). I haven't used mushrooms before (so I look forward to adding that.) One thing you might try that makes this recipe absolutely perfect, cut sausage links into 1/2 bites (brown with onions). Add 1/2 cup celery. When sauce has simmered (at least 2 hours) add whole pepperoni cut into 1/2" pieces. When serving pasta, ladle sausage and pepperoni separately and serve with freshly grated permesan cheese. You will NEVER make this differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian_Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was a really nice red sauce. I used italian link sausage, browned and sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is the best sauce. After making this I can say I make my own pasta sauce now. It has spice, tang and it awesome. I've made it and put it in lasagna, spaghetti, and also used it as the sauce on my french bread pizza's. Will keep this and continue to use it over and over again!!!! Thanks Carliey...what a great recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe is AWESOME!... I used fresh basil and fresh oregano instead of the dried herbs, and using fresh herbs really brought out the flavor. This is my favorite sauce and I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I didn't see in the recipe where it said to add the green onions, so I added them with the mushrooms. After simmering for an hour, they had sort of a weird slimy texture. That said, the flavor of the sauce was very good; next time I'll try it with regular onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Definitely a good flavour, but WAY too much red pepper, it overrides the rest of the sauce. I hope after it rests for a day it'll be a little milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States