Savory Italian Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is one forgiving delicious recipe. I used a lb. of Dean's hot sausage with the hamburger, lots of finely chopped of garlic and red onion, a good merlot fresh herbs and in the last 4 minutes fresh sage. No sugar. Toppped with Peccoronio. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Excellent sauce. I added 1/2 an onion to the recipe. Also, the green onions, but not referred to in the directions, just the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Even with some necessary empty pantry creative ingredient substitutions; this sauce was amazing! I doubled the batch but used only 1 1b of sausage. I also used sweet yellow onions in lieu of green onions, only one can of stewed tomatoes, 3 cans of paste, 1 of sauce, 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar with remaining water to replace 1/2 cup of red wine. I also didn't add all the sugar, I may try it with all of it next time just to see what changes but it seems like quit a bit. Maybe me substituting the paste vs sauce and stewed adjusts the sweetness of the sauce. It was excellent. We really enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
AWESOME! My family loved this! This is now my "go to" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I loved this sauce. Perfect amount of spice for me - I made it exactly as the recipe said and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I keep trying sausage pasta sauces looking for a great one--"This Is It"! So rich and satisfing.Made the house smell fantastic too! I didn't have mushrooms this time,but will definitely be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Just made this for dinner with my family. My son said it was the best sauce he's ever had - he's my spice lover. We all very much enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is the best sauce I have had in a long time. I mixed it with spaghetti and it was wonderful. I will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was a Great Sauce!!! I used italian link sausage, sliced and browned with the garlic. I used portabella mushrooms because that is what I had. I used 1/4 cup of wine and 3/4 cup water. I used less wine because I only had red cooking wine and I know it is stronger and saltier then regular red wine.Update- I made this again and had everything except used Italian diced tomatoes and got brave and used the half cup of Red cooking wine and it was super - It makes the perfect amount of sauce. Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was a winner exactly as written. I used spiral noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States