Savory Italian Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
My family LOVED this sauce,it will be a favorite.I followed it exactly except I used hot Italian sauage and no need for red pepper flakes.Thanks to Staci for suggesting the crockpot. Thanks for the recipe Carliey. Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This sauce rocks! I followed the recipe to a "T" (doubled) - except for the simmering step, I threw it all in the crockpot on low for several hours. SO Delicious! We will be making this sauce often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I did everything the same...although i forgot the red pepper flakes..my family loved it though and I think we are gonna stick with this instead of buying the store brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FujiyamaGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is the best sauce. After making this I can say I make my own pasta sauce now. It has spice, tang and it awesome. I've made it and put it in lasagna, spaghetti, and also used it as the sauce on my french bread pizza's. Will keep this and continue to use it over and over again!!!! Thanks Carliey...what a great recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Definitely a good flavour, but WAY too much red pepper, it overrides the rest of the sauce. I hope after it rests for a day it'll be a little milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Doubled the recipe and added some sun dried tomatoes. Absolutely fabulous with a little zip from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years (handed down Italian). I haven't used mushrooms before (so I look forward to adding that.) One thing you might try that makes this recipe absolutely perfect, cut sausage links into 1/2 bites (brown with onions). Add 1/2 cup celery. When sauce has simmered (at least 2 hours) add whole pepperoni cut into 1/2" pieces. When serving pasta, ladle sausage and pepperoni separately and serve with freshly grated permesan cheese. You will NEVER make this differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian_Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Fantastic sauce, I used yellow onions, and instead of just link sausage of I went half and half. I cut the sausage out of the casing on three sausages and sliced three it was more meat than called for but it was very good, great texture. I will defiantly be making this a lot more. It freeze real well too, I took some out of the freezer and nuked it for 5 minutes stirred it then gave it another two minutes, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is one forgiving delicious recipe. I used a lb. of Dean's hot sausage with the hamburger, lots of finely chopped of garlic and red onion, a good merlot fresh herbs and in the last 4 minutes fresh sage. No sugar. Toppped with Peccoronio. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States