Savory Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I went ahead and put the onions directly on the grill - I sliced them on the thick side so I wouldn't have to hover too much. I also sliced a head of garlic and threw it on as well and it was delicious. I started with olive oil and put a bit of butter on before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I cut my sweet onions in half, peeled them, cut a piece off the bottom so they would sit flat & then cut an X in them, not quite cutting them through. Placed them on the foil, dotted them w/ butter & sprinkled them w/ parmesan cheese & salt & pepper. While they cooked, they fanned out some & the butter was able to reach the inner layers. When removing them from the foil, I was careful in lifting them so that they retained their shape. These were a great side for Grilled Fusion Pork Chops (from this site)...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a great complement to any meal on the grill! I tend to use olive oil to lighten it up, sprinkle with salt and fresh pepper, all in a simple foil packet. TIP: Put the packet on the grill when you light it. It will have a good head start from the rest of your meal, which it needs since they take longer to cook through and caramelize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
We slice these thick drizzle with a little olive oil, some garlic powder and paprika and place them directly on the grill. No packet necessary. The go great with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Very easy and delicious, the longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great, especially if you are a onion lover, which I am.. I have also done this in the oven and they are really good too. Also whenI want them in a hurry and very tender I will put them in a plastic cooking bag, and they get so tender so quick. Perfect as a side for a good steak. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Great easy recipe. We did find out cooking it for a bit more than an hour is what is needed. Next time I'll add some herbs or lemon pepper to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Use garlic butter (we like it heavy on the garlic) and sprinkle w/ parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
We use this recipe camping, all the time. Great with steaks. The onions can be cooked right on the coals, as well (just make sure they're securly wrapped) I find that just a pinch of sugar in the packet brings out the onion's natural sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've done this for years. BUT I add a dollop of 57 Sauce in with the butter. Great grill dinner addition greever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States