Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Good recipe. I doubled the quinoa, added minced portabella mushroom and dried basil. My meatloaf came out nice and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was good. I added one clove of garlic. Next time I will cook my pancetta a little less. I like "meaty" bacon, so I think I will enjoy this more if the pancetta is less crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have a shallot, and couldn't bring myself to go to the extra expense since my grocery only sells them in little bags of 4 or 5, rather than singles in the produce department. So I substituted a small yellow sweet onion for the shallot. Like other reviewers, I also added a clove of garlic. Otherwise, I prepared as directed to serve with Easter lunch. I really think the pancetta adds a lot to this recipe that you would miss by using bacon (I'm a southern girl, so bacon is a staple here and we typically use it to season vegetables). However, the pancetta has a distinctly different flavor that is subtler (allowing other flavors to shine through in this dish rather than overpowering as bacon might), and crisps up much nicer than bacon. Will share this recipe and make it again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is delicious. I also make this with brussels sprouts. The only changes I make is I add a touch of olive oil when sauteeing the pancetta and at the end I put in a 1/2 cup of low-salt chicken broth and let it reduce until it just coats the vegetables. Makes a nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yummy and fragrant! I dislike pancetta so I used bacon instead. I doubled the recipe, so I scooped out most of the fat, setting it aside (in case I need to add more later). I love shallots but I've never thought of using shallots for green beans before, just my usual red onions. The shallots gives bland green beans an extra special touch to it, but not too overwhelming. Of course bacon makes everything good :) this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe. I made it first with the pancetta and made it again with bacon. I have to say that I did like the bacon a bit better. I put it on the Thanksgiving table and unlike the usual green bean casserrol that is left barely touched, these fresh beans were gone. This is definitely making the holiday table every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very delicious side dish! I decided to use bacon instead of pancetta since I had it on hand. I used frozen green beans, let them thaw before cooking. I came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
awesome recipe! Love how simple this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! Simple and delicious. Followed the recipe except I used bacon in place of the pancetta. The slightly smoked bacon and caramelized shallots together with the fresh beans is perfect. Everyone commented that they would like to have this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States