Savory Glazed Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a favorite at parties - my go to at pot lucks. I use IKEA frozen meatballs, instead if grape jelly I use a can of whole cranberry sauce, and it add 2 tbsp of Sambal sauce for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnfern

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
So easy! Love this recipe for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
When I made the sauce, I sauteed a sliced onion and a little fresh minced garlic in a little butter/evoo mix before adding the grape jelly and chili sauce. I swear, I can try different sauces for meatballs and I always come back to this one. It's a classic and a winner because it's GOOD. Simple as that. Best with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
These were delicious! I made some changes but I'm sure they would be delicious as is. For the meatballs, I used 1/3 ground beef, 1/3 ground lamb, and 1/3 ground pork. I used crushed Ritz crackers in place of the bread crumbs, and instead of browning them in oil on the stove, I baked them for 25 minutes in a 400 degree oven. I didn't have any grape jelly so I used homemade blackberry jam. I also put about 1 Tbsp. of stone ground mustard in the sauce. I would definitely make this again and I would like to try the sauce with other flavors of jelly. If you use something other than grape jelly just be sure that it is seedless. The blackberry seeds in my sauce were a bit unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made these meatballs last night and they were a big hit! I changed the sauce up a little bit by adding a teaspoon of honey and agave sweetener and only 1/2 cup of the chili sauce and it came out great. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Meh. I could only find southwestern chili sauce at the grocery store, so I used that with the Smucker's Concord Jelly. I don't know if regular chili sauce would have been better, but I wasn't in love with the flavor. When I had them in the crockpot, it was a really thin liquidy sauce. Once I put the leftovers in the fridge, a hard layer of orange fat hardened on the top. When I skimmed that thick layer off and reheated them, the sauce was a little bit better (not so runny anymore), but I still didn't love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Just made these for a work pot luck party...not a single meatball left and many compliments! I used the frozedn italian meatballs as well, combined and heated the jelly and chili sauce on the stove and then poured over meatballs. It's that simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I love these! I bake the meatballs instead of cooking them on the stove. I melt the grape jelly and chili mixture before dumping the meatballs in - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis_azura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These were allright. I've had a many cocktail meatballs (at parties and ones I've made myself) and these were not the best of them. My hubby and I didn't dislike these.... We just didn't feel they were as good as ones we've had before. For a fun twist, I served our MB's over a mound of mashed potatoes with a side of vegetables and pasta in a garlic butter sauce (purchased from my grocer's frozen foods section) and garlic butter crescent rolls. Because I served these as a main entree, I used reduced-sugar jelly to cut come of the sweetness. My chili sauce of choice was Heinz (the rest on the shelf were no name brands I'd never heard of) and of course, my jelly choice was Smucker's. :) Maybe these will be your thing, but they weren't ours. I'll stick with my tried and true recipe. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States