Savory Filled Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These pancakes are really good!! I have never made savory pancakes before and with these, it won't be the last time! Yuumo!! I made some chipotle mayo to spread on the pancake and filled it with sauteed pork slices, black beans and corn. I also added green onion and cheddar cheese. They are very easy to make and soo many different ways to make them. Thank You Linda! Keep them coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made these today. My boyfriend really liked them. I enjoyed them as well. The only changes I made was to use breakfast turkey sausages I cut up instead of the Canadian bacon and used frozen chopped spinach. They were great! I served them with salsa for a little added kick. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stilltrusting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I'm surprised this doesn't have more reviews! An awesome recipe! I'm really giving 5 stars to the pancake portion of the recipe, but look forward to trying the filling as written . . . soon. This is a great starting point for a quick inexpensive and healthy meal. Really quite good flavor out of the "pancake" part of the dish. We actually filled them with black beans, corn and a little Cabot cheddar cheese. I can see switching up the ingredients to create new masterpieces. I'm wondering what's the importance of instant oatmeal, as old fashioned oats seemed to work just fine. We liked these so much, I'll try another variation tomorrow. Thanks Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These pancakes are a different twist on dinnertime, and I really like to make them. It's easy to just throw all of the ingredients in the blender and make the batter.. then while those are cooking, find whatever you have in the fridge (I used red bell pepper, mushroom, crushed garlic, cream cheese, sliced deli ham, sliced yellow onion) to make the filling. The cream cheese really added a nice creamy texture and made it kind of saucy. If I had some cream and Parmesan I probably would have used that.. but it was yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Better than I expected :) I used bacon and cheese in the middle and it brightened my morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
i think the items contained within would be better without the wrap (it just is a little unnecessary), but overall the recipe tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I make these with only the top 3 ingredients and put a little agave syrup on them, I usually don't blend in a blender. Great with some fruit in them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Helpful recipe idea because it is fast, easy, versatile, flexible, and dependable. As-is it is great tasting, too. I have substituted whole eggs for egg whites and rolled oats for instant with good results. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I used Old Fashioned oats and was afraid they may not make a good texture so I tossed them in the food processor and essentially made oat flour. Then I added the cottage cheese to smooth out the curds. I couldn't see dirtying another appliance so I added my 2 whole eggs and spices and about 2 tbs of water and whirled away for about 30 seconds. My filling was asparagus, mushrooms, a handful of diced onion and 1 clove minced garlic sauteed in 1 tbs EVOO When cooked I turned off the heat, added 1/2 cup grated Jarlsburg and covered the pan while I made the pancakes. What a great Lenten dinner with a salad. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Took some convincing of my husband to try this, but I thought it turned out great. I didn't want to buy the bacon or feta for this so I substituted other meat/cheese I had. Next time I think I'll saute the spinach for a couple seconds before adding. I think this recipe is very customizable with different meats, cheeses and vegetables. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States