Savory Feta Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Made this last night & it was great! My husband and I both enjoyed it. I used 2 refrigerated pie crusts and cut them into 4 wedges each instead of circles. It was faster and easier for me. We had the leftovers for lunch today. Thanks Sarah B. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I made this last night and we both loved it. I did as One had suggested and added canned diced tomatoes with some juice to combat the dryness. I also use Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts and cut them in quarters making the pies with thoes instead of cutting circles No waste!!! I will add black olives next time. also I found that the pies were brown after 18 mins so I might lower the oven temp next time to 375 so the cheese gets a chance to melt more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This was a definite hit. To combat the 'dryness' that others had mentioned, I used a canned of diced tomatoes, slightly drained. This worked well. I also added sliced black olives and used greek seasoning. I got asked when I was going to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
My husband and I really loved the rich flavors of these pies. Savory definitely is a correct description. This recipe will be good for company or a special meal for us. I made the recipe for four and reheated two the next day in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Loved it...It could be a little dry, but I might add some more tomatoes next time. Very delicious. Any leftovers can be easily frozen. Would be a great meal to serve for friends with a nice salad.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My family really loved this recipie!!!....I modified it a bit, i ended up making a large pie instead of little individual pies and it turned out wonderful!!!...would love to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This recipe was excellent! I am Greek, so instead of the spices that it called for, I added a dash of Greek Seasoning (which includes mint- very distinctive)! I also made it into one large pie which worked out well. I will be sure to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Excellent recipe and wonderful taste. Time consuming because I made the crust by hand, but well worth the taste. Also portions are quite large!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I love feta cheese, so I had to give this recipe a try. My husband looked awkwardly at it and kind of turned up his nose, but ended up taking the leftovers to work for lunch. I felt like I was making a gourmet meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGPANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I took a hint from the others who cut their shells into four wedges, but only cut mine in half, then folded the half around the mixture. This way you don't have to seal as many edges. I had too much meat, so I only sealed the cut edge, and left the rounded edge open (too full to close it). They held together long enough to get them on the plates, and that's the important part! :) I used the canned tomatoes (Italian style) but I used too much of the juice, so had to scoop the meat mixture carefully to avoid sogginess. I also had no cayene pepper so used a wee bit of Thai chili garlic sauce instead for a bit of spice. I cooked it at 375 for 25 minutes as suggested to melt the cheese more, but I don't find that feta ever really melts. All in all, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States