Savory Feta Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I was cleaning out the fridge and had everything but the ground beef for this. I decided to use sausage instead and it was great. I used canned tomatoes with a tiny bit of the juice. I was told by my husband that we can have it again (which means he liked it too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nowata, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I thought that there was too much crust, way too much breading. The beef was flavorful, but dry. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I took a hint from the others who cut their shells into four wedges, but only cut mine in half, then folded the half around the mixture. This way you don't have to seal as many edges. I had too much meat, so I only sealed the cut edge, and left the rounded edge open (too full to close it). They held together long enough to get them on the plates, and that's the important part! :) I used the canned tomatoes (Italian style) but I used too much of the juice, so had to scoop the meat mixture carefully to avoid sogginess. I also had no cayene pepper so used a wee bit of Thai chili garlic sauce instead for a bit of spice. I cooked it at 375 for 25 minutes as suggested to melt the cheese more, but I don't find that feta ever really melts. All in all, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
These were yummy! I used canned tomatoes with onion and garlic like others suggested...drained a little and use about 3/4 of a can. The filling came out very tasty. My only complaint is that I ran out of pie crust before I ran out of filling, however that may be b/c I cut my 2 crusts into 4 wedges each, which made folding them a little awkward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I agree with most: this is an usual and savory pie. It is dry; I would use canned, diced tomatoes mostly drained, and I would lower the temp a bit and bake longer to melt the cheese better. But a fun and interesting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
adults liked and kids hated. good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I made this last night and we both loved it. I did as One had suggested and added canned diced tomatoes with some juice to combat the dryness. I also use Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts and cut them in quarters making the pies with thoes instead of cutting circles No waste!!! I will add black olives next time. also I found that the pies were brown after 18 mins so I might lower the oven temp next time to 375 so the cheese gets a chance to melt more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This was a definite hit. To combat the 'dryness' that others had mentioned, I used a canned of diced tomatoes, slightly drained. This worked well. I also added sliced black olives and used greek seasoning. I got asked when I was going to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I love feta cheese, so I had to give this recipe a try. My husband looked awkwardly at it and kind of turned up his nose, but ended up taking the leftovers to work for lunch. I felt like I was making a gourmet meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGPANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I had to give this a 4. My ex-husband made it, and I didn't like it at all.(It's been about a year, catching up on my recipe box) But when he took it to work, everyone just LOVED it, and he had to make it again, and take it to work the next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States