Savory Crescent Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I got this recipe from a friend over 30 years ago and it's a hit with everyone. One of my family's alltime favorite meals. However, the recipe I got includes a sauce to pour over them which I think makes it really good - otherwise too dry. Just a can of Cream of Onion soup and some milk heated. Use milk to whatever consistency you like. If you can't find Cream of Onion....cream of celery or cream of chicken work fine too. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Added 1/2 tsp Greek Seasoning as suggested by another reviewer. Used bread crumbs instead of crushed croutons which is essentially same thing without the work. Delicious. We loved it. Will make it again. My husband said it looked "beautiful" bc of the bread crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
3.5 - used variation of this recipe, this one would probably work better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was quick and easy, the crescent dough was a little difficult at first, but after reducing the amount I put in each pocket, it was better. I did have some leftover mixture though, so I could probably have used a can and a half of dough. I may have had more chicken than called for though. (I used one big breast that I fried in a skillet) The flavor was ok, I added some seasoning to the chicken breast, cooking it with little pieces of broccoli, and sprinkling it with cheddar cheese before baking, but that didn't make a huge difference. I might try this with different fillings. Also, I slightly undercooked the dough, it was a little gooey inside, so watch that. it was good, just not fantastic with this particular filling. (Maybe it was the cream cheese?) Again, I may try it with something else, do like a chicken cordon bleu type thing. Oh and they didn't drip a bit, I put them on a cookie sheet without greasing it or anything and one of them had a big hole in the top and didn't leak, but still warm and moist inside, so it is worth a try, it might be to your preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Followed other reviews and cooked chicken in evoo, garlic, pepper. I also added dried chives to the cr cheese mixture (used 1/3 less fat cr ch), left out butter and pimento (didn't have). Topped with itailian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Made these little tasty "Treats 'n Eats" last night - YUMBO !! The only change I made was dicing up a bunch of green onions instead of using minced - omitted the Pimentos and milk - then followed the "Folding and Flip" suggestion from Chef Joy's Aug 13, 2009 review - worked like a charm - oven temp and time right on perfect !! After making these once and seeing how easy and fun they are - your mind just races thinking about all the other goodies you could stuff these with !! Too Fun !! P.S....Leftover Thanksgiving Turkey works too !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yummy. I added red pepper, portabello mushrooms, cheddar cheese, mrs dash table blend and garlic :) also made chicken gravy to serve overtop !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Make this recipe frequently and always love it. Heads up though, don't use the store brand crescent rolls, they will give you a lot of trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a family favorite. We add mixed veges and use 2 tubes of crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
We really loved these! Due to the previous reviews of being a little bland I did the following: sauted 1/2 of a sweet onion with the one TBSP of butter then added one clove of chopped garlic. While still warm added the cream cheese and milk, after blended added a little onion powder and mild curry (about a dash) along with the salt and pepper. Then added about 1/4 slivered almonds, 1/2 cup frozen peas and 1/2 cup frozen corn and the chicken. Used 2 crescents (triangles) side by side (how they come out of pkg) to form a rectangle, added about 2 rounded TBSPs of chx mixture. I then folded middle up and then the sides, pressed each opening with a fork. Cooked on parchment on top of a pizza stone. Did this only b/c mine didn't stay completely sealed and didn't want to end up with a mess all on my pizza stone. Even with the various holes, they cooked perfectly and really not much of the filling came out. I thought they might end up dry due to all the veggies I added but it was perfect, not overly juicy but moist enough. I had enough filling to use 2 cans of crescent rolls. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States