Savory Crescent Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I've now tried this recipe once as written, and once modified. As-is they're very tasty, although maybe a little bland depending on what you use for breadcrumbs. The second time I left out the breadcrumbs entirely, based off of other reviews, and I also added a bit of rosemary. This recipe is a good one to experiment and make your own! I totally failed at doing the dumpling shape, though... I ended up making them look like little burritos, which worked just fine for us. For the burrito shape we cooked them for 15 minutes. One thing that others should DEFINITELY take into account is that you will probably want two cans of crescent rolls. I used the default measurements of two cups of chicken, and that was enough for about six-ish bundles, and with two cans I used all of the filling perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My family calls this Elysian Chicken Pockets. I have been making it for years with a few alterations from this version. I use canned chicken breast, Philly Vegetable cream cheese, dehydrated onions and garlic salt. No pimentos. Quick and easy to put together after a long day at work and always gets raves reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Lisa-I too took the rolls out early-bad idea! I used oven baked chicken from my store deli added some garlic powder, Lawrys salt and chicken spice blend. Instead of pimento I used Mancini peppers. Had no problems getting them to stay together. Very good! Next I will use a little more cream cheese and onion. I'm an onion lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My picky son even said I'd eat these every day! I added some chopped broccoli, a couple sprinkles of bacon bits, and used biscuit dough instead of crescent roll dough. Do not bake them for 25 minutes, 10 is plenty. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Awesome & easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I omitted the pimentos since we are not a big fan. I precooked thin sliced chicken breasts cut up with salt, pepper, onion and rosemary. I used 2 tubes of crescent rolls as well. Mixed together cream cheese with chives and added in the pan after the chicken was just about cooked. Filled the crescent rolls and brushed butter mixed with garlic over the pockets and top with seasoned croutons crushed. Awesome! Even my picky 14yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I took your base and updated with my own topppings. First batch was chicken, spinach, ricotta and mozzarella. Second batch was chorizo, eggs, spinach and pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samlawali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very tasty, but next time I will double the cream cheese and the crescents to make the pockets bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING!!!! I had "other" items on hand, so I added bacon bits, cheese, shallot, roasted garlic, basil & parsley. I didn't make NEAR enough! (Everyone wanted more.) Will keep this one in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I have been making these for years - everyone LOVES them. I have always used 'real' chicken and all I use is chicken, cream cheese (light) and hot pepper rings chopped up. I simply put filling on the flattened crescent roll and pinch together on top. They freeze very well. To die for!!!! - Pat Baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States