Savory Crescent Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have been making this recipe for literally years - my family loves it! We call them "Chicken Squares". I don't use the pimentos or the croutons. After putting the chicken mixture in the middle of the crescent rectangle, I just fold the sides flat up over the top and gently pinch closed to make a little packet. I used to twist the sides together on top as originally listed, and had problems with it staying "doughy" in the center of the twist - you nearly have to overcook them to get it done that way. Most of the time I omit the butter on top of the crescent rolls and no one has ever noticed the difference. I do use Cavender's Greek Seasoning in the chicken mixture, and I think that is the secret to a really spectacular recipe. It's definitely a keeper and a standard in my recipe file! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
669 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Like another reviewer I used muffin tins to make this dish. I used 10 oz canned chicken, 4 oz cream cheese, and 2 Tablespoons of diced Roasted red bell pepper. I also needed two packs of crescent rolls and put a heaping tablespoon inside each triangle. Sealed them anyway they would and topped with the melted butter and roasted garlic flavored breadcrumbs. They're pretty and easy to handle in the muffin tin method. 350 degrees for about 17-20 minutes worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
621 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This recipe is so yummy and super easy to make! I usually use 4 oz. cream cheese instead of 3 oz. just because my boyfriend and I love cream cheese. I also do not use the pimento or brush the crescent tops with butter and sprinkle with croutons but they still turn out delicious. One suggestion I do have is to season the chicken a bit while cooking. I usually poach the chicken in chicken broth and season with salt, pepper and a little of Emeril's original essence spice just to give it a bit more flavor. Also, do not let the crescent rolls sit out too long as you prepare the chicken. I found that it makes the dough too soft and when you go to wrap the chicken mixture it tears much easier. Keep the dough chilled until you are ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS ON FOLDING! I posted a picture of how I fold them, and I never have any issues with some of it not cooking like others did. Basically fold two longest sides up until they meet & pinch together. Then fold up and over the short sides (1/4th of the way) ...pinch, then flip over the entire crescent so the folded side is on cookie sheet (again, see pic)! Also, without a doubt... TWO crescent rolls are needed to complete these, making a total of 8. I find it a lot easier to use my largest cookie scoop 1/4C so they're consistent and it's exactly the amount of mix this makes!! Due to recommendations, I found a few T of red peppers and a handful of almond accents (sliced FLAVORED almonds in the salad section) make this taste wonderful w/a nice crunch. Breadcrumbs instead of croutons taste terrible as a substitute, so don't do it! Also, using generic crescents make this not turn out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
YUMMY!! I used canned chicken and it was still incredible. For those of you who thougt it was "too bland", try this......make your normal "favorite" chicken salad, but use the 3 oz. cream cheese instead of mayo......then follow the recipe. It's so good. I added celery, red onion, and apple pieces. This was so great......definately an easy favorite I will make again and again. Oh, and I sprinkled w/Italian breadcrumbs instead of crushed cruotons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This was really quite good! I'd read some reviews that mentioned the filling was somewhat bland, so I cooked the chicken in a little butter, oil, and s&p, and when it was done, i sauteed the onions briefly in the pan juices/tasty brown bits. I also threw in a bit of garlic powder. The crushed croutons were a good addition (I'm sure bread crumbs work, but may not be as good), and they were a lot of fun to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I have made these chicken bundles for years, and my family and guests LOVE them. The filling can be made a day ahead and stored in the refrigerator reducing last minute prep time. I prefer to substitute chopped chives for the minced onion for a more delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Overall, this was a pretty tasty recipe. But, I did change a few things. After I put the chicken mixture in the middle of the rectangle I topped it with a tsp. or two of canned diced chiles and a sprinkle of cheddar cheese. I also took out the pimento since we don't care for them and I used an extra can of crescent rolls to cover the tops instead of folding the rectangle over. Very tasty and versatile recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
My husband and I absolutely loved these. I couldn't believe it when my husband kept saying how good they are, because he is a real "Beef" and potatoes kind of guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I made some alterations. I sauteed the raw chicken in some butter with a clove of minced garlic, 1/4 cup onion, half of a roma tomato, and 1/4 cup chopped broccoli. Then I added it to the cream cheese, butter and milk mixture. My husband said it tasted gourmet! (I also put some of the filling on sandwich bread cut up into small squares and toasted the squares in the oven. Great appetizers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States