Savory Crescent Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These. Were. Absolutely. Delicious. I've made them 3x already this week. I didn't have canned chicken, so I just cut up and cooked some chicken breasts with garlic, onion, and poultry seasoning. I followed the recipe with a coupe modifications: add some chopped spinach and substituted the salt and pepper for about 1 Tbsp of powder ranch dressing mix. Thank you for the recipe, these are quick to prepare and taste superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Seeing this recipe made me laugh (in a good way) We made these in my Home Economics class in 10th grade (17 years ago) We didn't add pimentos or croutons though. These are very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Someone told me about these sandwhiches a long time ago so I have been making my own version w/out a recipe so I was excited to find this one! The minced onion is a great addition. I just wanted to make one suggestion to those who thought these sandwhiches are bland: slow cook the chicken in chicken broth, pepper, onion powder, garlic, etc. Whatever seasonings you like. This helps add flavor to the blandness of the cream cheese. These also freeze well so you can make extras for those busy nights. Also, great to take with when you need to pack lunches for the day. (My kids get tired of PB&J) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
We have been making these for many years, they are tradition in our family! I do not use the pimento and we always smother in turkey gravy! The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I think the amount of filling doesn't match the amount of crescent rolls, so next time I will use two packages of crescent rolls. I threw in some leftover peas, left out the pimento peppers, and topped mine with bread brumbs rather than croutons because that's what I had on hand. I didn't like these as much as I thought I would, but they're an easy use for leftover shredded chicken which I always have in the freezer and my husband liked them so they're a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Sauteed onions & garlic with the sauce & it was AWESOME! Great way to use up leftover grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was the best-looking recipe on the site, although I was worried about all the comments saying the chicken filling wasn't savory enough. So I erred on the side of caution and added a lot of seasonings: garlic salt, onion powder, pepper, cumin. I was afraid it would be too much, but it wasn't! I also wanted to make more so I rolled up a small teaspoon of filling in individual rolls instead of combining 2 rolls together. A pack of crescent rolls made 8 puffs. I also accidentally bought a pack of the "golden layer" rolls and was amazed that they actually peel apart so I could fill them and seal them back up together! They worked just as well as the crescent rolls. Quick and easy and the whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
this was good but too rich. i like the idea but with whole chicken breasts and maybe a slice of cheese and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymoenl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I got this recipe from my Mother-in-Law and she adds melted Orange Marmalade on top when you serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We love this recipe at our house. I do make a few changes. I use chive cream cheese in place of the plain and I use chopped green chilis instead of pimentos. I use italian bread crumbs instead of croutons, use two packages of the crescent rolls and also add a dash of garlic powder to the chicken mixture. It is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States