Savory Crescent Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Not much flavor, overall not too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have been making these for years, I think the original recipe was in one of those Pillsbury cookbooks. My sister calls them "Chicken Dingers". I use thyme or tarragon in the chicken filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was one of the first recipes I ever followed close to 30 years ago, I made it for my parents and sisters. It came from a Pillsbury bake-off cookbook. I use dried, seasoned bread crumbs in place of the croutons just because it is easier. I just made these last week and they are as good as ever. Thanks for bringing back an old favorite. I have made these with canned, drained albacore tuna and adding dried dill weed also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've been making a version of this recipe for 20 years. I use more cream cheese (at least 6 oz. for the amount of chicken used) and chopped chives. No pimentos, and no onion (and I love onion). The chives give a slight onion taste. There is no need for the extra croutons or butter. I also use my baking stone to bake the little chicken packets. You can use reduced-fat crescent rolls, but the flavor is not quite as good. My grown kids still get excited when we have Chicken Packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have also been making this for years and I also call them "Chicken Squares". I make them the same way except I have never used pimentos and I fold them into a square. I will try the pimentos to see if I like them that way. I have always made a chicken gravy to top them, so instead of them being a sandwich, they are more like a dinner. I have put chopped broccoli in them or mixed veggies too. I think the butter on top with the croutons are a must for the crunchy texture. These are so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have been making this for years and it a family/friend favorite. However, I do add a cucumber sauce on the side that really adds to the flavor. It is made with chopped cukes, sour cream and dill! Try it and you'll like it! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My mother made this for me growing up, and I have made this for years. We don't serve it as a sandwich- we serve as a dinner with a sauce made from one can of cream of chicken soup mixed with one cup of Sour Cream. Heat this up and spoon over. Makes a wonderful addition and adds moisture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've been making this for years - my family loves them. I usually add a little bit of broccoli and shredded carrots. My granddaughter requests these at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have made this for years- but I have cheated and simplified it as well. Perdue short cut chicken with cream cheese mixed in a bowl. ( used to add mushrooms but my kids dont like them). Place in crescent roll and make a little pouch. Brush with a little melted butter and sprinkle crushed croutons on top. Bake on parchment paper-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Try using cream cheese with chives and add garlic--fresh or powder along with some form of onion. No need for the extra butter or milk. Either canned or cooked chicken breast works. Separate the crescent rolls and put a golf sized scoop on the wide end of each and roll up tucking the ends over to make a packet. Cook as directed-- 350 for about 20 min and serve with white gravy. They freeze well. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States