Savory Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe didn't cut it for me. I prefer cornbread that is somewhat sweet. I was able to put chili over it in a bowl and that worked. I wouldn't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
added a can of green chilies and some shredded cheese on top. they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Louise
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is superb! You can taste the corn so well. But as i have read comments, the only thing i did is put 1cup sugar instead of 1tbsp. Turned out perfect, fine balance of flavor. It yields 24 regular size muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Really easy, light and fluffy. Used 1 cup of cake flour instead of all purpose. Dumped 30 seconds melted butter (instead of wholly melted). Also, instead of slow mixing wet and dry, but dry in bowl first then dumped all wet in and still came out great! Recommended. Creamed corn kept the muffins very, very moist but not like cake... still muffiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
To much trouble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My husband loved these muffins! I did tweak the recipe a bit. I used 1 tbsp of black strap molasses instead of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt instead of 1 1/2 and almond milk to replace the buttermilk. The muffins came out moist and delicious. The molasses only made them a tad bit darker than the picture you posted. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I just made these and have to agree with many of the reviews. They are very salty! I also doubled the amount of sugar and it still wasn't enough to take the edge off, or give any sweetness at all (though, it probably wasn't intended to be sweet anyway). However, they are a pretty muffin with a good texture, so there are good things about it. I will make again, though add more sugar and probably very little salt, if any. The salt really takes over these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Never having tried corn muffins these sounded like something that would be worth the effort. I used the salted butter instead of unsalted and I used all the salt (1 1/2 tsp) I served it with chili. I noticed no overbearing saltiness in the muffins. I love the idea of the creamed corn in the muffin. Our friend said they were good. I might try them again adding the jalepenos and cheese next time. I did over mix them I'm afraid but not sure if it changed anything. They fell apart as we ate them but maybe they all do that anyway. I would only eat these and not bother with corn muffins without the creamed corn. I like the bits of corn in the muffins. I don't want it to taste like a cupcake so I wouldn't add more sugar. I would think the idea is to add salt and sugar to enhance the corn flavor not make it salty nor sweet. Everything is too sweet these days. I like flavor more than sweet. If our friend wants them the next time he comes over - I'll make them. Maybe adding crumbled bacon to the batter might be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nestlover
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was really good, but I did use about 1/4 cup of sugar instead of the called for 1 tbsp. I like a sweeter batter. I also added jalapeno to half of them for those that like spicy. The only issue I had is the batter was very runny, but it still was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Really, really good. I used coconut oil instead of butter and also increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. These were perfect with a cup of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States