Savory Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I am really just rating the icing, as I have not tried the rolls themselves...was just looking for an icing that didn't reqiure cream cheese and yum! Found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is way too sticky. I used the alternative recipe with the entire box of mix. I will give it one more try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I have made home made from scratch cinnamon rolls many times, so I was quite skeptical about making these "Cake Mix" ones, fearing they'd come out tasting "cakey", but they were wonderful! I had to add one more cup of flour than the recipe called for to make my dough less sticky, and I think I would add even more filling next time...I like them very gooey in the middle! They were easy to roll and cut, and they rose very quickly in a warm oven, which cut down on time! Also, I covered them in a cream cheese frosting. The kids and hubby downed two each and wanted even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate Princess
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
i just made these tonight to put out during the OU/Mizzou game...They are amazing!!! I didn't notice the recipe called for only 1/2 box of cake mix and I used the whole thing..oops:)Also only had white cake mix so I used it.. The dough was sticky, but just made sure to flour my counter top liberally and there was no problem! I cut the dough into 2 inch slices and ended up with 16 rolls that baked up very thick and gooey! Just what I wanted! The other changes I made were for the filling: 1 cup brown sugar, 2 Tbsp cinnamon and 1/3c butter and for the frosting: 3oz cream cheese, 1/4c butter, 1+1/4c powdered sugar, 1/2tsp vanilla and 1 tsp salt. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena67212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
These were really good. If I had to grade them on a scale of 10 it would be a 6.5. After having the Soft, Moist, and Gooey Cinnamon Buns recipe on here though these didn't quite shine. I do appreciate the fact they didn't need eggs. And I firmly believe any cinnamon roll should only be iced with a cream cheese frosting. Overall, worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Good, but a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
These were o.k. I guess it just wasn't the kind of dough that I was looking for. I followed another review and used the whole cake mix and 4 cups of flour. They did taste good but just not what I was wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These are the BEST! I love making these and they always turn out perfect! I haven't tried different flavors of cake mix but I do intend to make chocolate-orange rolls tomorrow... I imagine they will be delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great recipe! Made the following changes after reading the reviews... used 2 cup water, the entire pkg. of cake mix; reduced the flour to 4 cups, and increased the vanilla extract to 2 tsps just for added flavor. Recipe turned out great! My family was in awe since this was my very first batch of cinnamon rolls to ever bake that didn't come from a can! I also used Janni's recipe for Cream Cheese Frosting II to top these just because we love cream cheese! Thanks again for a great recipe, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Many, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This recipe is wondeful. I did the 18 oz of cake mix in replacement for 1 cup of flour like someone else suggested. My father-in-law told me they were better then his mom's and his mom's recipe was always called the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethanyV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States