Savory Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I thought these rolls were easy for cinnamon rolls-I couldn't believe you didn't have to knead the dough. I substituted the white sugar for brown in the filling and almost doubled the sugar and cinnamon-the rolls were delicious. I also didn't read the recipe right and added the whole box of cake mix. The dough was sticky so I added more flour. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glittergirl94
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I made Sticky Buns! These were so good! I was a little worried as I was mixing the dough because it was not very firm at all. I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to shape the rolls. After I let it rise the first time I ended up kneeding in quite a bit of flour(maybe a cup or so). If was soft enough so I didn't need to roll it out, I just pressed it. But it did hold it shape to make rolls, so I was happy. I did make a few changes(similar to those that others had made). I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar used in the gooey filling. It was very good, but not enough. I think next time I'll double the filling recipe and even put some on top of the rolls after I've assembled them and put them into the pan, you can never have too much sticky when eating sticky buns... And instead of dividing a box of cake mix in half, I just picked up a box of Jiffy yellow cake mix; very inexpensive and good, with no leftovers to worry about... ! And the icing was great. I added an extra tablespoon of milk because it was very stiff and hard to work with. It was still very sweet, and the butter flavor came through nicley. For something different, next time I may use orange extract instead of vanilla. Overall a great recipe, very versitle and very yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I made these scrumptious rolls for our bible study class, and everyone went wild!! I actually made 2 recipes, one I followed the recipe exactly, and the other one I sprinkled butter, brown sugar and chopped pecans on the bottom of the rolls and then flipped them as soon as they came out of the oven. Amazing!.....After making these rolls a few times, I've tweeked them a bit. I decreased the water to two cups and found that to make the dough easier to work with. I also ground some chopped pecans and added them to the cinnamon/sugar mixture(which I also doubled). Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
so easy and tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was AWESOME! My first time making Cinnamon Rolls and they came out PERFECT! Some modifications I used: I baked them in smaller pans so they would all be baked evenly (my oven is temperamental), I used a different frosting recipe (one without butter), and I used brown sugar and extra cinnamon. And regarding what to do with the other half of the cake mix?? I just modified the box instructions (cut everything in half) and made cupcakes! :) Great recipe! A yellow cake mix- I never would have guessed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I am not much of a cook(sooo busy), so I had a can of buttermilk buiscuits in the fridge. My husband wanted cinnamon rolls, so I found your recipe and modified using the canned buiscuits. They were FABULOUS!! I can only imagine how good your full recipe is! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
These were good...I used the whole cake mix, brown sugar and more cinnamon. I also added raisins to half of it...and I liked even better!! Thanks for the recipe...glad I tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I tried this recipe because so many people have given 5 stars. The icing was excellent, but the rest was disappointing for me. I don't think it has enough cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
These are INCREDIBLE! I have never ever come across a recipe that is as close to perfection as this one. If you are looking for store-bought quality and them some you MUST make these!! Extremely easy and actually fun! I recommed buying whipped cream cheese frosting and frosting these while still warm. Makes it Purrrrrrrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
These cinnamon rolls were great. I put everything in my bread maker and ran the dough cycle. When the cycle was finished I rolled them out and followed the recipe except for adding brown sugar instead of white sugar. I have tried other recipes before and these are the best ones I've ever made. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States