Savory Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I Love this recipe! I altered the filling by substituting brown sugar for the granulated sugar, and adding 2 Tbsp flour, to add a richer flavor. My family loves to walk in the door after these have been pulled out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
If you are accustomed to a bisquick taste? Then this is the recipe for you! Easy to make, but ughh.... If you want this taste, buy a box of bisquick and add cinnamon and sugar to it. You will get the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
First, I halved the recipe and it still made 12 beautiful large rolls. The dough in this recipe is extremely sticky...too sticky. So I increased the flour by 1 cup and used the entire 9 oz of cake mix for half the recipe. Still sticky, but manageable. At first I was really skeptical because the dough is definitely not easy to work with - but the end result was "BLISS". We prefer a buttery cream cheese frosting. I also cooked these in a convection oven for 18 minutes at 325 degrees. So moist and flavorful. I will make again, but might try less water next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Excellent!!! I made a few modificatons though. Used the whole box of cake mix and decreased the flour to 4 cups. Since the dough was very sticky and hard to handle, would probably decrease the water by 1/2 cup also. Be sure to turn the dough out on a WELL floured board. It was too sticky to roll out, but floured the top and patted it into a large rectangle and it worked fine. They did turn out to be delicious. Like some of the other reviewers, I mixed up a larger dose of the sugar and cinnamon and was glad I did. They were tasty!! Would be good as a sticky bun recipe also. Oh and I made a thin icing--left out butter--and drizzled it over top of buns. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I would love to thnk the person whoo made this recipe. I baked them for my mom's birthday this morning, and she absolutely loved them. I especially looooooooooooved the buttery frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
this was my 2nd attempt making cinnamon rolls. my first w/another recipe was horrible! i didn't want to try any other recipes until i saw this one because it seemed so unique w/the use of yellow cake mix. the dough was very,very,very soft but that could be the result of me not measuring the cake mix (my box contained double the amount called for). or it could be that because hawaii is humid...i may have needed additional flour? anyway, it was difficult to handle the dough but i just used a lot of flour and a flat scraper. i was unable to roll it out so i instead just pulled and pressed it out to shape while i pressed out the air bubbles. it was hard to roll up into the log shape after buttering and sugaring because it was so soft but i managed. i also cut the pieces w/the scraper and laid them into the pan like a juggler. in the end....they turned out oh so tender and tasty...yummy! everybody loved them! especially my daughter visiting from the mainland; she couldn't stop eating them! the icing is deelicious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I think I added too much cake mix. Mine were VERY heavy and dense. I don't know if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
These cinnamon rolls were not what I expected. Based on the reviews, I thought the cinnamon rolls would be delicious. They were too heavy and the consistency was not what I was looking for. Although the icing is a keeper, I will not make these again. I was looking for something similar to the cinnamon rolls KFC used to sell years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These were good. I too, found the dough sticky and hard to work with....had to add flour. (different brands of cake mixes maybe? I used Duncan Hines)I should have read the review about using 1/2 cup less water first possibly? I used brown sugar....about 1 1/2-3/4 cups and way more cinnamon than called for, and still could have used more of both. For the frosting I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 cream cheese and it was excellent. As for what to do with the other 1/2 of the cake mix, I put it in an airtight container in the fridge, and planned on making another batch of these next weekend. After the response I received from my family, I will have to find another use for it. They love my traditional homemade cinnamon rolls, so I'll be sticking to that recipe. Thanks Jamie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
These really did turn out as wonderful as other reviewers have said. I doubled the filling and used brown sugar. I also added walnuts and raisins. They turned out just liked grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States