Savory Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
So very good! Delicious, moist chicken with a crunchy topping! I pounded 3 chicken breasts and cut in half to make more uniform, seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, and a pinch of cayenne. Used provolone cheese on half of them and sharp cheddar on the other 3. Used 1 can cream of chicken soup with 1/4 cup sherry. Topped with 1-1/2 cups Panko breadcrumbs mixed with 4 Tbs. melted butter and mixed in a bit of garlic salt and paprika. Baked as directed in a 9 x 9 pan. Used Low broil for last few minutes. Let sit for 10 minutes and actually served over strained Ramen noodles -- was in a pinch but was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I so wanted to like this. But it's like the classic Midwest dish that's super high fat and calorie - comfort food. Nothing wrong with comfort food unless you want to be slim. I just found it fatty and kind of gross. Cream of anything soup is not good to start with... then butter and cheese and bread.... It was just OK (taste-wise), and "no way" (health-wise). Then I tried to warm it up the next day and everything had congealed (all the fat) so when I microwaved the rice with the dry chicken on top I ended up with crusty ick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kecia Bruce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
We really liked this with a few changes. I butterflied the chicken breasts and shortened the cooking time to about 20 min covered and 15 uncovered. The ratio of topping/sauce to chicken was perfect this way. If I had left the breasts whole, it would have been too bland and a bit dry. I also seasoned the chicken with a garlic seasoning blend along with the pepper, and I mixed the melted butter with the breadcrumbs before sprinkling it on top. Definitely a keeper recipe for busy nights. It was so quick to put together. Next time, I might try adding a slice of ham or prosciutto on top along with the cheese. Switching it up with cream of mushroom soup as others suggested sounds great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My husband is a picky eater... However this was a hit... I used mozzarella cheese instead of Swiss... But it was juicy and moist... It's a lot of butter so I wouldn't make it all the time but serves as a wonderful comfort food... Made it with Mac and cheese and roasted green beans ... Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel Soriano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this recipe as directed. It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja Wilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Very bland don't think we'll try this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Best dish I've ever made. I did put stuffing on top. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Sorry, this one didn't work for us. I followed the recipe but found that the chicken didn't cook fully (it was still quite pink) and the sauce was gloppy. I ended up taking the part-eaten chicken off our plates and putting it back into the oven without the sauce to bake for another half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
No not yet I want to try this recipe I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I read the reviews, and used more cheeses and used Cream of Chicken and Cream of Mushroom soups. I broiled it for 7 minutes at the end to crust the top, nicely. One of my favorite recipes for ease and deliciousness. Served over rice. Great base recipe, and so many ways to customize. A saver for your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States