Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Yum, I subbed out the butter for canola oil and otherwise made these exactly as written. These are yummy and I will make them again when I have zucchini to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! These are the perfect savory muffin. I followed the recipe *exactly* and these came out beautifully. Full of flavor and great texture. Thanks for sharing with us, Pam! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
WOW! These are AMAZING! A ton of flavor bursting from these tender muffins! Followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding an extra slice of bacon. Baking time for me was 33 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I have just made another batch after receiving a less than stellar review. I followed the recipe exactly and had excellent results, again. My total baking time was 32 minutes. Some pointers to follow when baking anything - allow cold ingredients to come to room temperature (unless the recipe specifically states COLD). Cold ingredients drop the temperature of the batter resulting in longer baking time/underdone baked goods. This recipe calls for milk and an egg. I let mine warm up first (you can cheat here). Remember that oven temperatures vary, but the temp is always hotter at the top and cooler at the bottom. Opening the oven door repeatedly can also drop the temperature by up to 25 degrees. I do have one recommendation - if you use liners, I'd go with the foil type - the cheese in these muffins tends to stick to the paper. These are a moist muffin inside - there is yummy melty cheese all through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made a cold pasta salad with a fresh tomato herb-y dressing for dinner and was looking for a complimentary bread to serve with it. This was the one I eventually chose....and what a choice! Only thing different I did was use half whole wheat flour and low-fat buttermilk. Very, very nice. Even my youngest son ate two! Simple, filling and very tasty. I'm quite jealous I didn't come up with it. NOTE: I did not peel my zukes or scoop out the seeds. I just chopped it all quick as a rabbit in my Pampered Chef hand chopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made these last night and they turned out great. They were done in about 30 minutes, moist and yummy. I didn't drain the zucchini. I didn't add the bacon but I think I will add it next time. Leftovers would make an excellent quick and go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These turned out absolutely fantastic! I used 1/4th of a cup of bacon bits because i didn't have actual bacon on hand and they still turned out to die for! One big tip is, absolutely DO NOT drain your zucchini when making these. It give them their moisture and if you drain them then your muffin will most likely turn out burnt or hard. These muffins actually taste like the cheese biscuits you get at Red Lobster, except you get a little bit of something extra in these! Great taste, great texture, and a great find. Definitely will make again. Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe! I used shredded zucchini instead as a way to hide it from the kids, lol! They couldnt even tell...and loved them! I also added a few extra strips of bacon. The recipe is perfect as is though. Thankyou for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I just made a double batch of these and they are awesome! I did leave out the bacon because I didn't have any, but I had no problem with baking them to the right consistency. They taste very similar to the Red Lobster rolls, but even better. I've already e-mailed this recipe to several friends. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was FABULOUS. I've been dying to make these for a week and I was not disappointed. Made exactly as written and it was perfect. You've got a winner Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States