Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I have just made another batch after receiving a less than stellar review. I followed the recipe exactly and had excellent results, again. My total baking time was 32 minutes. Some pointers to follow when baking anything - allow cold ingredients to come to room temperature (unless the recipe specifically states COLD). Cold ingredients drop the temperature of the batter resulting in longer baking time/underdone baked goods. This recipe calls for milk and an egg. I let mine warm up first (you can cheat here). Remember that oven temperatures vary, but the temp is always hotter at the top and cooler at the bottom. Opening the oven door repeatedly can also drop the temperature by up to 25 degrees. I do have one recommendation - if you use liners, I'd go with the foil type - the cheese in these muffins tends to stick to the paper. These are a moist muffin inside - there is yummy melty cheese all through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I was really excited to make these sadly they were bland. It needs at least 2 to 3 more bacon slices and maybe and extra 1/2 cup cheddar cheese or even a sharp white cheese added. It also needs a tablespoon of mixed herbs such as rosemary and thyme. I will try these again with these alterations and update my post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These looked nice but the only flavor was bacon. Certainly not worth the time and ingredients. There are much better recipes out there to use zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Didn't turn out very well. They were kind of gooey, sticky, (45 min to bake) and very bland. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
My husband loves most anything cooked with zucchini but he did not like these muffins. Maybe it was the combination of the different ingredients? Don't know. As to the actual making and baking of them, I had to cook them longer than called for. When they were nice and browned and the toothpick came out clean, I removed them from the oven, only to have them sink. Will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very bland. I should of drained the Zucchini , the added moisture from them made these too moist. Needs alot to give flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My family liked these but I wasn't a fan. I thought they were a bit bland. Perhaps adding some chopped jalepeno would jazz these up enough for me to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
These were alright as I had to use frozen shredded zucchini. They were a bit bland until I used some butter and pancake syrup. It turned them almost into a sweet breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home Chef Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
They are a little gooey for me.. I tested with a toothpick after 33 minutes and it came out clean so I thought they were done. Now that they are cooled they are gooey. Not sure if it was because I used only 2 T. low fat margarine, fat-free cheddar cheese, egg beater and Hormel Bacon Bits (50% less fat). Maybe you need the real fat for these to turn out correctly. Sorry, Pam, I really did want to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These tasted like...nothing. They were really bland and not good at all. I followed the recipe to a T. I have a feeling these will sit until i toss them in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States