Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made a cold pasta salad with a fresh tomato herb-y dressing for dinner and was looking for a complimentary bread to serve with it. This was the one I eventually chose....and what a choice! Only thing different I did was use half whole wheat flour and low-fat buttermilk. Very, very nice. Even my youngest son ate two! Simple, filling and very tasty. I'm quite jealous I didn't come up with it. NOTE: I did not peel my zukes or scoop out the seeds. I just chopped it all quick as a rabbit in my Pampered Chef hand chopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I have just made another batch after receiving a less than stellar review. I followed the recipe exactly and had excellent results, again. My total baking time was 32 minutes. Some pointers to follow when baking anything - allow cold ingredients to come to room temperature (unless the recipe specifically states COLD). Cold ingredients drop the temperature of the batter resulting in longer baking time/underdone baked goods. This recipe calls for milk and an egg. I let mine warm up first (you can cheat here). Remember that oven temperatures vary, but the temp is always hotter at the top and cooler at the bottom. Opening the oven door repeatedly can also drop the temperature by up to 25 degrees. I do have one recommendation - if you use liners, I'd go with the foil type - the cheese in these muffins tends to stick to the paper. These are a moist muffin inside - there is yummy melty cheese all through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made these last night and they turned out great. They were done in about 30 minutes, moist and yummy. I didn't drain the zucchini. I didn't add the bacon but I think I will add it next time. Leftovers would make an excellent quick and go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
The only problem I had with these muffins was getting one for me to eat! They disappeared as soon as I put them out and everyone agreed they are wonderful. I have a second batch in the oven as I type this. I have no more bacon, so I replaced some of the butter with the drippings from the first batch. This is a terrific recipe and we will have them often. Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
these were excellent!!! i had zero problems. my picky eaters even loved them. i made two batches and we had some left for breakfast the next morning before school. to the reviewer with the problems: make sure you measure correctly. remember there are two seperate measuring utensils for solids and liqids. also make sure you are measuring your flour, soda, and powder correctly. sifting also helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
They are a little gooey for me.. I tested with a toothpick after 33 minutes and it came out clean so I thought they were done. Now that they are cooled they are gooey. Not sure if it was because I used only 2 T. low fat margarine, fat-free cheddar cheese, egg beater and Hormel Bacon Bits (50% less fat). Maybe you need the real fat for these to turn out correctly. Sorry, Pam, I really did want to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Ours were a little gooey, but my whole family loved them & ate them up! I used a strong, white cheddar and added yoghurt (in place of milk) for some thickness. We let them brown quite a bit on top and they get better if you let them set for a while (it is tempting to eat them fresh from the oven). Turn the oven off, crack the door and let them firm up a bit - it works great. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These turned out absolutely fantastic! I used 1/4th of a cup of bacon bits because i didn't have actual bacon on hand and they still turned out to die for! One big tip is, absolutely DO NOT drain your zucchini when making these. It give them their moisture and if you drain them then your muffin will most likely turn out burnt or hard. These muffins actually taste like the cheese biscuits you get at Red Lobster, except you get a little bit of something extra in these! Great taste, great texture, and a great find. Definitely will make again. Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! These are the perfect savory muffin. I followed the recipe *exactly* and these came out beautifully. Full of flavor and great texture. Thanks for sharing with us, Pam! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe! I used shredded zucchini instead as a way to hide it from the kids, lol! They couldnt even tell...and loved them! I also added a few extra strips of bacon. The recipe is perfect as is though. Thankyou for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States