Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
They were a little on the dry side and I couldn't taste the zucchini -- only bacon and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Could use a little more flavor so we may add some extra bacon and some garlic powder next time, but we definitely make again to use up extra zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent recipe! I would suggest that the muffin cups be buttered and floured rather than sprayed with cooking spray. I made the recipe exactly as written, measuring the zucchini accurately and the result was delicious and the perfect amount for 12 muffins. For those who may have had gooey/too moist muffins - it's probably because you used too much zucchini. My 9 month old daughter and I loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These tasted like...nothing. They were really bland and not good at all. I followed the recipe to a T. I have a feeling these will sit until i toss them in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Pretty good overall. I reduced the flour to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/2 cup corn meal. I also squeezed the grated zucchini between paper towels to reduce the liquid. The muffins came out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. They made a nice addition to our supper of white chicken chili. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Such a wonderful, savoury muffin! I am not sure how there are reviews on here that disliked them so much, we loved them! I did use 2 egg whites instead of an egg as I had a carton open to use and also used shredded light swiss as I was out of cheddar (that never happens!). Left out the bacon as I don't often buy it, although I did throw in a couple of tsps of a cheese/jalapeno seasoning that I have and love! Mine were done and nicely browned in about 25 mins. Great muffins Pam, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made these muffins today, and I liked the flavor. I had no problem with them being bland (I added a dash of black pepper, 2 extra slices of bacon, and half an onion fried in the bacon fat). The only problem I did have was that they were too gooey. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, (you can make it yourself: for every cup of milk add one tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice), because the acid in the buttermilk reacts with the baking soda and makes the muffin fluffier. Unfortunately, the batter was too dense for anything too happen. I think that if I make these again I will add more flour and probably drain my zukes. You also need to add the full amount of salt, maybe more. These were good, but VERY heavy and filling. One more thing: I think I would cut back on the cheddar and add more Parmesan just for the flavor. I really wanted to like them. . . Sorry, but these just were too heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenjellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Oh my goodness these were awesome! I kind of goofed on the directions a little and just threw everything in a bowl and started mixing. Which probably led to the fact that they were a little chewy on the outside but that's the way I like my muffins. Even though they were chewy on the outside they were moist and delicious on the inside. The flavors meld together very well and they taste great! We have a bunch of zucchini in the freezer and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I left out the bacon and maybe that is what was wrong with this recipe. Seems like something is missing. The muffins were rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I really liked these..they puffed up and got a really nice crown on them. I used turkey bacon, soy cheese, olive oil instead of butter (and half the amount). I did add a bit of chili powder as I was making these to serve with pumpkin chili. I made half a batch and popped them in the freezer. They reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States