Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Thanks, Pam, for an excellent savory muffin recipe. My kids weren't totally sold, until I told them there was bacon in the muffins. Then they ate 2 each. Another delicious way to use up some zucchini. We had these with our herbed chicken fettucine (also from this site), and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made these muffins to go with a chicken dinner. I followed the recipe almost exactly: I used egg beaters for the egg, soy milk for the milk, and I left out the bacon. I also added a bit more garlic, using 1 heaping tsp of bottled garlic. Baked for 33 minutes and I thought they were very good. Due to some of the ratings I wanted to taste them before dinner, and I was pleased and my 2.5 year old was happy with the result. I didn't think they were bland or gooey. They weren't "normal" muffin consistency on the inside, but I wouldn't say they were gooey or runny, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I tried this recipe this morning for myself and my daughter for breakfast. I saw people thought it was rather bland so I added half a packet of sazon to the mix, a whole teaspoon of salt and a whole cup of the cheese. They came out very nice. Still a little less flavorful than I would like for a savory muffin but for breakfast this was really rather good. I didn't add bacon because I personally don't like pork. I would say definitely try this recipe but spice it differently according to your personal taste. Also they were done (tops golden) in 34 minutes. Make sure everything is room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were great! My 1 1/2 year old loves them. I used half whole wheat and regular flour. I didn't have fresh parmesan cheese though. I also didn't have any bacon. Next time I will make sure I have all the ingredients. Thankyou for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These felt and tasted greasy and I suspect it was all the cheese and bacon.. not to mention a half stick of butter divided into 12 "muffins". When I served them, there was so much grease on the napkin lining the bread basket that they were barely touched by my guests and family. They were also very bland tasting and couldn't taste anything but greasy cheese and bacon. The recipe could possibly be rescued with half the cheese, half the butter and some fresh herbs. I think I'd leave out the bacon next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These were wonderful! I read Pam's review before making and made sure everything was at room temp before baking. Mine were done at exactly 30 minutes. I added a little extra garlic and a tsp of italian seasoning, but otherwise made as written. These were a great side to the chili I made and my husband couldn't stop raving about them. Thanks for the recipe, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I loved these! Especially straight out of the oven. I made quite a few changes and didn't find them bland at all. Firstly, I used a mixture of grated zucchini and apple, probably a little over a cup in total. I used two big cloves of garlic and a bit of fresh ground pepper. I used one cup of cheddar cheese and omitted the parm and bacon because I didn't have any. I found the baking time to be about right, unlike other raters. I think this is a great versatile recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
While not inedible, these were very bland. And too dry for my liking. Not tender at all. I would not make these again as written. This recipe needs too many revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Was looking for a base biscuit or a muffin to change up for a catering job I'm doing and decided to try these. I was concerned with all the fat in less than 2 cups of flour and I was right. As they cooled, the cheese began to congeal and they sat in a puddle of fat. The flavor was so bland that all you could taste was the bacon - the zucchini flavor was lost and I saw nothing savory about any of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I'm not sure what happened w/ the reviewers, but this was a great savory muffin. I took another one's advice and replaced 1/4 cup flour w/ corn meal. I even used mozz. instead of cheddar and there was tons of flavor. I'll make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States