Savory Cheddar Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I loved these! Especially straight out of the oven. I made quite a few changes and didn't find them bland at all. Firstly, I used a mixture of grated zucchini and apple, probably a little over a cup in total. I used two big cloves of garlic and a bit of fresh ground pepper. I used one cup of cheddar cheese and omitted the parm and bacon because I didn't have any. I found the baking time to be about right, unlike other raters. I think this is a great versatile recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
While not inedible, these were very bland. And too dry for my liking. Not tender at all. I would not make these again as written. This recipe needs too many revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Was looking for a base biscuit or a muffin to change up for a catering job I'm doing and decided to try these. I was concerned with all the fat in less than 2 cups of flour and I was right. As they cooled, the cheese began to congeal and they sat in a puddle of fat. The flavor was so bland that all you could taste was the bacon - the zucchini flavor was lost and I saw nothing savory about any of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I'm not sure what happened w/ the reviewers, but this was a great savory muffin. I took another one's advice and replaced 1/4 cup flour w/ corn meal. I even used mozz. instead of cheddar and there was tons of flavor. I'll make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
They were a little on the dry side and I couldn't taste the zucchini -- only bacon and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Could use a little more flavor so we may add some extra bacon and some garlic powder next time, but we definitely make again to use up extra zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent recipe! I would suggest that the muffin cups be buttered and floured rather than sprayed with cooking spray. I made the recipe exactly as written, measuring the zucchini accurately and the result was delicious and the perfect amount for 12 muffins. For those who may have had gooey/too moist muffins - it's probably because you used too much zucchini. My 9 month old daughter and I loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These tasted like...nothing. They were really bland and not good at all. I followed the recipe to a T. I have a feeling these will sit until i toss them in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Pretty good overall. I reduced the flour to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/2 cup corn meal. I also squeezed the grated zucchini between paper towels to reduce the liquid. The muffins came out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. They made a nice addition to our supper of white chicken chili. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Such a wonderful, savoury muffin! I am not sure how there are reviews on here that disliked them so much, we loved them! I did use 2 egg whites instead of an egg as I had a carton open to use and also used shredded light swiss as I was out of cheddar (that never happens!). Left out the bacon as I don't often buy it, although I did throw in a couple of tsps of a cheese/jalapeno seasoning that I have and love! Mine were done and nicely browned in about 25 mins. Great muffins Pam, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States