Savory Caribbean-Inspired Sweet Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
my children absoultley loved these,but be sure when ever you are cutting your hot peppers to wear gloves as your fingers will burn for days,do try this but also when patties are ready to fry dip in egg and then in flour this will give it form without falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanna
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
The first batch I made I followed the directions to the letter. They tasted good but as per other reviews, they were too loose, and fell apart easily. The second time I made them I added 3 eggs and 1/2 cup of flour and 1 cup of panko then baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. They held shape tasted delicious but were less oily. Let them stand for 10 minutes to firm up. Delicious sweet/spicy combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
The only oil I used was spray oil, and I omitted the brown sugar. These were great! I've made this recipe several times since finding it. Great tasting sweet potato cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I prepared these with the sweet potatoes that grow in my country (purple on the outside and white on the inside, yellow when they are cooked). It worked pretty well, didn't crumble as much, but they did absorb all the oil and did not form a crust the way I would have wanted to. I skipped the jalapeño. I was also a bit confused about what sauce to serve this with, so I served them plain, but they were a bit dry for my taste, might try some tomato sauce next time; might also try adding an egg to see if they brown better and using less sugar to make them more savory. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious flavour. Mine did fall apart a bit while cooking, though. I think a little flour/oatmeal with an egg would have helped hold them together more. I think I'll try them in the oven next time to cut down on the fat some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Simply Amazing. I'm a huge fan of potato cakes, and an even bigger fan of sweet potatoes! So was really excited to try this recipe. Flavor was amazing. I followed the recipe completely EXCEPT I found the mixture to be too wet and in reading some of the comments I figured it would have the same problem of falling apart that others had ran into. To fix this I added 1egg and around 1/4 cup of flour to give it a little body. They fried to a perfect golden color. The outside was perfectly crispy and the inside was still creamy and amazing! Even the hubby says they were a 5 star! We will definitely be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellowsnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Excellent even without being fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love sweet potatoes and was looking for something new. this recipe was easy to make and the flavor was fabulous. This is the second time I made these. The first time I followed the recipe. The second time I wanted to cut the fat and some calories so I eliminated the brown sugar, and did not fry the patties in oil. Instead, I cooked them on my Griddler and they turned out great. They still crumbled a little when removing them from the griddle but they were delicious : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The batter was way too loose - the cakes fell apart while frying and stuck to my non-stick pans. I then dipped the patties in Panko breading then fried them. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Loved it. Quick and easy. Just the right amount of sweet and spicy. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States