Savory Bubble Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Very good!! When my dough was done and I went to make the balls, it totally collapsed into a gooey pile, but I still dipped the wads in the butter, and then in my herbs and parm, and after I let it rise it looked like real dough again. In the end it was perfect!! Tasted great, my whole family loved it. Just don't worry if it looks like it flopped, it will come out OK in the end. WONDERFUL!! Thank you, Susanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I just baked this tonight for the first time (and pretty much only my 2nd time to ever make bread) and it was brilliant. I always tweak recipes, and I dont have a breadmaker, so I started off with warming the water, mixing in the sugar and sprinking the yeast over to foam/cream for a while, before mixing in the rest of the ingredients to make the dough, kneading and allowing to rise for 30min. Then following with breaking off hunks and dipping in the butter, mixed herbs minced garlic etc, and putting in the pan, and again allowing to rise before baking. I also probably had closer to 2 cups of flour as the dough was a bit sticky, and it was still sticky ish but probably easier to handle after that. Oh and I don't really measure my seasonings so they were probably 2x the recipe. The result was beautiful soft bread with a nice hint of garlic and subtle herb flavours, and cheese and tomato that i sprinkled on top. It had a lovely thin crust, and broke apart easily. Thank you for this wonderful idea! I plan to use the base of the recipe for sweet bread and different savoury flavour combos, as well as a basic white loaf. Hope for people who dont have breadmakers! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This was a huge hit at the dinner table! This wonderful bread accompanied our Valentine Meal. The Kids loved pulling thier piece of bread apart from the bread ring. We all loved the taste too!! My bread machine did the hard work while I prepared the other parts of the meal. This is permanently in my recipe box!! Thank YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This is a great recipe! It is easy to make and so delicious. You can add other spices/herbs to suit your taste. Be prepared for the compliments. Thanks, Susanne for this wonderful addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This recipe was okay, but it didn't blow me away. I will stick to the sweet version of bubble bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
These were sinfully amazing. I changed it up a bit. After I pulled the dough from the pan I kneeded flour into it as it was too sticky. Then I preped 1/4 cup butter melted, 6 cloves minced garlic, fresh diced rosemary and about 1 heaping tsp of thyme in a bowl. I dipped the bread pieces in there and put them in a 9x13 pan. After I basted on the remainder of the mixture adding 1 leaf of rosemary to the top of each. Then I grated parmesian and cheddar and sprinkled it ontop prior to baking. My fiance ADORED THEM. They were awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My family really likes this recipe. It is especially fun for my teenage girls to make since it is so uncomplicated. I would change one thing, though, which makes it a lot easier. We melt the 1/4 butter and then add the cheese and herbs to the same bowl. That way we only have to dip the dough balls in one bowl, and the herbs & cheese are distributed much more evenly through the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Wow!!! My hubby absolutely loved this bread, his friends too. I used an angel food pan, and it came out looking like it came from a fancy bakery. I used crushed garlic right in the melted butter. The first time I made this I mixed the herbs with the butter, and ended up needing more, the butter soaked into the herbs. The second time I rolled them in butter then in the herb mixture, and they were quite messy, and I got a bit too much herb on the balls, cause they were so wet. Next time I will mix the herbs with the butter, and make a bit extra, it seemed to go on more evenly. I used freshly grated parmesan cheese and sprinkled it over each layer both times, and it was really nice. I used shredded cheddar the second time(sprinkled between layers) mmmmm it was really good. I didn't have the herbs called for so I just made a mixture of oregano, basil, parsley, and dehydrated onion. This bread was so much fun to pull apart and eat. We had it with baked spagetti and also with beef stew. I bet it would be good to do this with butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, maybe a Christmas morning treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I am not sure what I did wrong, but the ratio of liquid to flour in this recipe seems way off. The dough was terribly gooey. I had to throw it out, sorry. Might try again at some point, not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Fantastic!! I will be making this regularly! I did use 3 cloves of crushed garlic instead of the garlic powder and mixed it and the other herbs in with the melted margarine and just dunked the pieces of dough in that. I sprinkled the cheese and a little bit of oregano on top ... I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States