Savory Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great muffins. I did some modifications. I replaced the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar in half. Also used chopped ham on hand instead of bacon. Delcious savory muffins. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These are excellent!!! Mine turned out great--not too dry at all. The only deviation from the original recipe was that I didn't have any wheat germ to add. I just substituted extra flour for it. I also added a handful of shredded Italian blend cheese (though I don't think this would effect the moistness any). I baked mine in a mini-muffin pan (for the same amount of time) for our church's after-service Easter Brunch--I can't wait to share them!!! (of course, I had to test 1 or 2--OK, maybe 3, first!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
My fiance' and I loved this! I substituted turkey bacon, and added some cheddar cheese....yummy! I didn't have any wheat germ on hand, I am wondering how that effects the recipe? Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I found this recipe after whining about all breakfast foods being sweet. I substituted turkey bacon instead of regular bacon, used 2 packets of Splenda instead of regular sugar, and swapped out 1 of the cups of flour with whole wheat flour. I also added onions (because I love them). All in all, I'm very happy with the result and will make again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Thanks for sharing a nice recipe. These were great. I even froze some of them for a quick on the go "breakfast". I can pop one in the microwave for 20 seconds or so, and run out the door with it! I added organic flax seed to mine, so they were a bit more dense, but it gave them a really nice texture as well. They're nice with butter, and easy to feed to small children. Certainly worth a try. I think this recipe has great potential for personalizing with your favorites grains or even nuts etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yanno, I wasn't too impressed by these as-written, but I'm sure they could be great with a few mods. I'm thinking if I do these again, and I'm sure I will, I'll use more meat and substitute bacon drippings or lard for the butter. The problem, as it were, is that the batter is delicious but just tastes like dough, and the bacon and corn pieces are few and far between. I also second the reviewer who said these could be delicious with some green onions, which I plan to add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
The adults loved this recipe at our Christmas Brunch. It was great and as noted, not a sweet muffin. It worked well with the many sweet coffe cakes we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My 5 year old says, "these are so yummy, I just can't stop eating them!" I added cheddar cheese but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I think I will use maple syrup and/or bacon drippings for some more flavor next time. I did both regular muffin size and mini-muffins, kids loved the little ones since they are so easy to eat with no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is a great quick savory muffin recipe that could be varied quite easily. Also a great side dish for soup. I did not use salt and used corn kernels instead of creamed corn ( because i didn´t have in cupboard). I also added 1/4 cup of grated cheese which works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
For a healthy alternative to sugar, I used maple syrup instead. My kids didn't know the difference and are chowing down! Great breakfast with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States