Savory Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
The adults loved this recipe at our Christmas Brunch. It was great and as noted, not a sweet muffin. It worked well with the many sweet coffe cakes we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
My kids loved these and I like serving them a muffin that isn't so sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
For a healthy alternative to sugar, I used maple syrup instead. My kids didn't know the difference and are chowing down! Great breakfast with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great muffins. I did some modifications. I replaced the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar in half. Also used chopped ham on hand instead of bacon. Delcious savory muffins. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
My fiance' and I loved this! I substituted turkey bacon, and added some cheddar cheese....yummy! I didn't have any wheat germ on hand, I am wondering how that effects the recipe? Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is a great quick savory muffin recipe that could be varied quite easily. Also a great side dish for soup. I did not use salt and used corn kernels instead of creamed corn ( because i didn´t have in cupboard). I also added 1/4 cup of grated cheese which works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Perhaps I did something wrong, but I found these muffins to be a HUGE disappointment. I prepared as recipe states and made no changes (as did other cooks), however mine came out extremely dry, crumbly and had a strange flavor. Maybe I baked too long, but they were barely brown. Maybe the corn is what I didn't like and adding cheese would help. I am not sure, but I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These are excellent!!! Mine turned out great--not too dry at all. The only deviation from the original recipe was that I didn't have any wheat germ to add. I just substituted extra flour for it. I also added a handful of shredded Italian blend cheese (though I don't think this would effect the moistness any). I baked mine in a mini-muffin pan (for the same amount of time) for our church's after-service Easter Brunch--I can't wait to share them!!! (of course, I had to test 1 or 2--OK, maybe 3, first!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Good "savory" muffin! I needed something to go with baked Tilapia, risotto & grn. beans, and this fit nicely. Everyone ate at least 2 and I was pleased with the results. Thanks for a nice, hearty muffin recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This recipe is a good idea - I love having non-sweet breakfast ideas. I use 2/3C whole wheat four in place of 2/3 C white and leave out the wheat germ. I also leave out the butter, cut the oil to 3 Tbsp and use the whole can of corn. I just tried these with ham instead of bacon, as one reviewer suggested and - YUM! at least as good as the bacon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States