Savory Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Great muffins! way to go recipe writer :) my batter was very dry so i added some of my boyfriends beer. It lighten up the texture made them fluffy and chewy (just how he likes them) Also I added cheese and used frozen corn. Oh yeah, I added sliced cherry tomatoes on the top just before I slid them in. Thank for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justlikemymama

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I think this would make a good base recipe. I made this exactly the way the instructions were written with the exception of 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. The overall texture was great, moist on the inside, kinda crunchy on the outside. The taste however was quite bland. If I decide to try this again, I would definitely add something like onion powder or maybe some cheese as some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit4TheKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I found this recipe while looking for an old one I can't find. The only thing that I notice that is different is cheddar cheese instead of corn. I don't think corn sounds very good for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
My hubby LOVED these. I used 3 Tb. flax meal instead of the wheat germ, and used the bacon drippings (came to 1/4 exactly) + 1/8 c. of melted butter and oil each. Also used the whole can of creamed corn. My hubby said they could have used more salt, I preferred them as is. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I found this recipe after whining about all breakfast foods being sweet. I substituted turkey bacon instead of regular bacon, used 2 packets of Splenda instead of regular sugar, and swapped out 1 of the cups of flour with whole wheat flour. I also added onions (because I love them). All in all, I'm very happy with the result and will make again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
These were good as is, but will definitely be made better with the addition of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My 5 year old says, "these are so yummy, I just can't stop eating them!" I added cheddar cheese but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I think I will use maple syrup and/or bacon drippings for some more flavor next time. I did both regular muffin size and mini-muffins, kids loved the little ones since they are so easy to eat with no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Mello
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
You can do a lot with this recipe. In one version, I added a large handful of diced long horn cheddar, and pecans (or perhaps it was walnuts; I can’t remember which). Based on reviewers’ suggestions, I added maple syrup in place of sugar, substituted a portion of flour with whole wheat and wheat germ. Added two chopped, hard-boiled eggs and used my tofu bacon recipe in place of the pig bacon. The cheese and other extras I added help keep the muffins moist for the week. For another version I got rid of all the add-ins except the cheese and soy bacon, and added sautéed onion, mushroom and broccoli. (No maple syrup in this version). Next time I’m going to use apples (peeled and chopped and sprinkled lightly with cinnamon) with a sharp cheddar, the corn, and maple syrup. Maybe I’ll throw a chopped egg in there; we’ll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Thanks for sharing a nice recipe. These were great. I even froze some of them for a quick on the go "breakfast". I can pop one in the microwave for 20 seconds or so, and run out the door with it! I added organic flax seed to mine, so they were a bit more dense, but it gave them a really nice texture as well. They're nice with butter, and easy to feed to small children. Certainly worth a try. I think this recipe has great potential for personalizing with your favorites grains or even nuts etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My family loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States