Savory Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
You can do a lot with this recipe. In one version, I added a large handful of diced long horn cheddar, and pecans (or perhaps it was walnuts; I can’t remember which). Based on reviewers’ suggestions, I added maple syrup in place of sugar, substituted a portion of flour with whole wheat and wheat germ. Added two chopped, hard-boiled eggs and used my tofu bacon recipe in place of the pig bacon. The cheese and other extras I added help keep the muffins moist for the week. For another version I got rid of all the add-ins except the cheese and soy bacon, and added sautéed onion, mushroom and broccoli. (No maple syrup in this version). Next time I’m going to use apples (peeled and chopped and sprinkled lightly with cinnamon) with a sharp cheddar, the corn, and maple syrup. Maybe I’ll throw a chopped egg in there; we’ll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
The adults loved this recipe at our Christmas Brunch. It was great and as noted, not a sweet muffin. It worked well with the many sweet coffe cakes we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
My kids loved these and I like serving them a muffin that isn't so sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
For a healthy alternative to sugar, I used maple syrup instead. My kids didn't know the difference and are chowing down! Great breakfast with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great muffins. I did some modifications. I replaced the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar in half. Also used chopped ham on hand instead of bacon. Delcious savory muffins. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
My fiance' and I loved this! I substituted turkey bacon, and added some cheddar cheese....yummy! I didn't have any wheat germ on hand, I am wondering how that effects the recipe? Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These are excellent!!! Mine turned out great--not too dry at all. The only deviation from the original recipe was that I didn't have any wheat germ to add. I just substituted extra flour for it. I also added a handful of shredded Italian blend cheese (though I don't think this would effect the moistness any). I baked mine in a mini-muffin pan (for the same amount of time) for our church's after-service Easter Brunch--I can't wait to share them!!! (of course, I had to test 1 or 2--OK, maybe 3, first!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These are so good! I served them at a brunch, along with a sweet muffin, and everybody said how good they were. These savory muffins were quickly gobbled up and gone. The sweet muffins were also good but they did not disappear nearly as fast as these savory muffins. I will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I substituted whole wheat flour for the white flour (healthier) and whole kernels for the creamed corn (all I had that morning) and it still worked out great. I think the creamed corn would be better and I will be sure to chop the bacon more next time too. These are great for breakfast, but also with soup for lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These muffins are great! Only change I made was added more bacon. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States