Savory Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yanno, I wasn't too impressed by these as-written, but I'm sure they could be great with a few mods. I'm thinking if I do these again, and I'm sure I will, I'll use more meat and substitute bacon drippings or lard for the butter. The problem, as it were, is that the batter is delicious but just tastes like dough, and the bacon and corn pieces are few and far between. I also second the reviewer who said these could be delicious with some green onions, which I plan to add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wildspiritart
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that I could convert to 'dairy free' so I made the following substitutions: milk = rice dream butter = dairy free sunflower spread. I also added a handful of chopped orange capsicums, one small finely chopped onion, some parsley and some ham (did not have any bacon) The muffins were delicious and my one year old demolished one on his own. My only suggestion would be to cut down on the sugar as they are a bit sweet for my taste. Next time I'll try just one tbsp and see how that goes. Other than that - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildspiritart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I substituted whole wheat flour for the white flour (healthier) and whole kernels for the creamed corn (all I had that morning) and it still worked out great. I think the creamed corn would be better and I will be sure to chop the bacon more next time too. These are great for breakfast, but also with soup for lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These muffins had good texture, but lacked flavor. They might be tastier with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I used ham instead of bacon as some others suggested and mixed in some chedder cheese... otherwise I followed the recipe. They were good but I think maybe a touch more salt and maybe some green onion would make these 5 star savory muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These are so good! I served them at a brunch, along with a sweet muffin, and everybody said how good they were. These savory muffins were quickly gobbled up and gone. The sweet muffins were also good but they did not disappear nearly as fast as these savory muffins. I will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This recipe is a good idea - I love having non-sweet breakfast ideas. I use 2/3C whole wheat four in place of 2/3 C white and leave out the wheat germ. I also leave out the butter, cut the oil to 3 Tbsp and use the whole can of corn. I just tried these with ham instead of bacon, as one reviewer suggested and - YUM! at least as good as the bacon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Good "savory" muffin! I needed something to go with baked Tilapia, risotto & grn. beans, and this fit nicely. Everyone ate at least 2 and I was pleased with the results. Thanks for a nice, hearty muffin recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These are excellent!!! Mine turned out great--not too dry at all. The only deviation from the original recipe was that I didn't have any wheat germ to add. I just substituted extra flour for it. I also added a handful of shredded Italian blend cheese (though I don't think this would effect the moistness any). I baked mine in a mini-muffin pan (for the same amount of time) for our church's after-service Easter Brunch--I can't wait to share them!!! (of course, I had to test 1 or 2--OK, maybe 3, first!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Perhaps I did something wrong, but I found these muffins to be a HUGE disappointment. I prepared as recipe states and made no changes (as did other cooks), however mine came out extremely dry, crumbly and had a strange flavor. Maybe I baked too long, but they were barely brown. Maybe the corn is what I didn't like and adding cheese would help. I am not sure, but I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States