Savory Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Absolutely the best pork chops I have ever eaten. I cooked this yesterday for myself and my mom. I followed the instructions as written and even took the advice from another review about using red onion to line the bottom of the pan. Let me tell you, it was absolutely delish with the red onion and using a Red Delicious Apple. For others, I would recommend using a sweet red apple like Red Delicious and not a tart green. Gives the food sweet, but not too sweet flavor. And do use the ketchup. I did and think that if the ketchup wasn't there it would take away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
i'm not a huge pork fan because I always find it too dry or tough. This one was delicious! Super moist and tender. I did change one thing though, I put mine in the slow cooker and added a little bit of apple juice and water for liquid. Turned out great! I don't care for the apples myself but the meat was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Good, my husband liked it. I used the suggestion of layering onions at the bottom of the pan. I did not pour the ketchup over the pork chops. Instead, I mixed ketchup, brown sugar and some apple cider, and a little browning sauce over the pork chops to cook. Once the chops were done, I took the juices, added a little butter in a pan to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was fantastic!!! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dustycloak
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
If you are expecting your traditional baked apples and pork chops this isn't it. It is sweet but the ketchup also gives it a tangy twist. I had prepared it for the oven in a casserole dish but had to transfer the meal to a dutch oven for the stove top when my oven quit on me. I added a few onion slices and sliced up a carrot for color. Also, I put a little water in the pan to keep the pork chops moist. The end result was delicious. I will make this again in the oven when I get the chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
mix ketchup and brown sugar before brushing over chops. Slice apples and put on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBROCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
the ketchup will ruin this recipe! so we didn't use it. add sliced onions to this recipe. (the bed of onions was a good tip!) I layered all in a pan starting with onions in the bottom of the pan spread evenly, pork chops next with salt and pepper sprinkle, then the apples, a little cinnamon and the brown sugar. they were moist and delicious. i would make this again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Ohmygoodness.. GOOD! I read the suggestions from the others. I decided on this: I peppered chops and layed them on a bed of onions. Cut up some apples and put them on. Sprinkled w brown sugar and drizzled with reg bbq sauce. 350 in oven until done. It was pretty, chops were tender, my apples were perfect, taste was wonderful. This, indeed, will be a regular in my house. Many thanks. (even better the next day!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Might try changing something before trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I found this recipe on this site a few years ago and it is a staple in our house now. SO EASY! And the pork turns out so moist! I use boneless chops though and it never takes more than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States