Savoiardi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
so very good. i will next time use it as a base for making a tiramisu or a custard trifle!! Better than the kind you buy in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Thank you for a great recipe! I grew up on Savoiardi biscuits and they are undoubtedly my favourite thing to dunk in coffee. I coated them in caster sugar as soon as they came out of the oven. Definitely worth submitting a photo and a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a perfect and simple recipe. I have used these to make Tiramisu with great success. I was also able to make these cookies using a gluten free baking mix instead of the flour and no one could tell the difference! My SIL who has Celiac disease was thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These lady fingers turned out perfect for my tiramisu. What I changed- I poured all of the batter into a 9x13 baking dish. I took it out of the oven 2 minutes early because the top was a beautiful brown and I didn't want to ruin it. I took it out of the pan (used parchment paper for easy removal) and turned it over. Placed it back into the oven to give the bottom a nice color. A true Classic tiramisu uses a harder lady finger so I wanted it to be a little firmer. These were perfect! Thank you for this recipe. I've been looking for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this for my tiramisu because I didn't like the ladyfingers I bought from whole foods. They were too small. The ones I made from this recipe looked like the picture shown but flatter. I might not have beaten the eggs enough also the heat from mykitchen may have kept the batter too liquid. Next time I will make sure to beat the yolks till they are a very pale yellow and refrigerate the batter for a few mins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Pretty good recipe, but time consuming if you are thinking of making tiramisu. I'm buying store bought next time. I did lower the oven temperature to 350 F since 375 was just too high to bake the fluffy dough needed for savoiardi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastingchic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I was in the mood to make cookies today but a different kind. These looked like they would fit well. Making it was interesting and kind of fun too. Adding the flour was just weird. It didn't mix well so my first few cookies were just egg tasting. I mixed it more cause I noticed it was clumpy and the second batch was a little more firm. I didn't use a piping bag cause I don't have one so I just spooned then on the cookie sheet. My first impression when I took them out of the oven was "great I messed it up" they were very soft almost like making marangue. After cooling for an hour they are now sticky and kind of goowy. They have an interesting texture. I used orange extract instead of vanilla cause I ran out. The taste if good. I don't think I'll make these again though cause I was looking more for a cookie then this. Maybe I just didn't do it right, I don't know. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This turn out very good, lot of work with the piping and all but well worth it (specially since in my country store packed ladyfinger cost a mint). I substitute 2tbs coco powder for the flour coz i want to make it chocolaty. I also sprinkle them with sugar to make them sparkle a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Easy and delicious. If making Tiramisu, I found it was easier and faster to make this batter and bake two thin cakes instead of the individual lady fingers. The baking time was about the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for. I am making Tiramisu and needed a crisp lady finger. Thanks for sharing. Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States