Savoiardi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T and they DID NOT turn out like any lady fingers iv ever bought from any grocery store!They are extremly flat! They taste fine just very very flat! To salvage the rest of the batter i added a bit more flour which helped it out Alot! I was able to make my Tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have tried this recipe a couple times to use in tiramisu and it is perfect! I recently tried a slightly different recipe which made a crispy cookie with the same exact taste...it was a disaster! The crispy cookies became mush in the tiramisu, even though I only dunk them in room temp coffee for a split second. With the recipe provided here I got a softer cookie but it kept up in the tiramisu beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Followed all steps perfectly, three times - while the taste is great (not too sweet) these just don't puff up enough (hardly any rise). Yes, I do realize that "ladyfingers" are not intended to be much of a rising baked good, however there should be SOME rise to them. All 3 times mine came out approximately 3-4 mm thick. Checking other recipes for "ladyfingers" I find the ones that come out proper tend to have a bit of baking powder or cream of tartar. Sorry PEGW - these just don't consistently turn out well enough. I typically only make things from America's Test Kitchen because they test all recipes 30-40 times and tweak it so it's fool proof and the absolute best it can be. I appreciate your efforts in making & sharing this recipe, but for those like me looking to make Savoiardi and make it well EVERY time, skip this one and simply look for a "ladyfingers" recipe; you'll get better results - consistently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
not to happy bater was too thin and cookies came out very flat like waffers. not bad taste but not what they should have been. may try it again will try chilling the batter first and see what happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These lady fingers turned out perfect for my tiramisu. What I changed- I poured all of the batter into a 9x13 baking dish. I took it out of the oven 2 minutes early because the top was a beautiful brown and I didn't want to ruin it. I took it out of the pan (used parchment paper for easy removal) and turned it over. Placed it back into the oven to give the bottom a nice color. A true Classic tiramisu uses a harder lady finger so I wanted it to be a little firmer. These were perfect! Thank you for this recipe. I've been looking for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Five stars on taste. My problem was - as with many others - that they got very flat. I made a batch, and decided to try again after reading reviews that mentioned not over-whipping the egg whites, as I had been worried that I had. The second batch came out just as flat, even though I was sure to stop whipping the egg whites in good time. Ah, well. I figure that the tiramisu recipe I'm using has you cut them in half lengthwise anyway, so I guess these half-sized ones take the effort out for me. lol. Anyway, I used a large Decorating pen to pipe them and it was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Just finished baking them and they turned out to be absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Easy and delicious. If making Tiramisu, I found it was easier and faster to make this batter and bake two thin cakes instead of the individual lady fingers. The baking time was about the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Unbelievably easy and perfect for tiramisu! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Well, I must be missing something. In order for a batter to be piped, it has to have a minimum of denseness; the recipe outcome was sort of watery. So I added some more flour (little) which slightly improved it’s texture but still. I piped it on parchment paper laid in a baking tray where the batter flattened to the sides resulting in thin flat biscuits; i.e. not having the required thickness. I also noticed that most of the reviews are in favour of this recipe, so what could be the problem here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States