Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I wound up making a couple small modifications to this. I didn't have cooking wine nor did I have fresh garlic. I omitted the wine and subbed 1/4 tsp garlic salt for each clove. It was easy and worked out to be rather tasty. I'll happily make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Scrumptious!!! The best tasting mushrooms....so good that I made them last night, and I went to the store this afternoon to make them again tonight!...I used only 1 tblspn of the balsamic and kept everything else the same....I did use white wine cause thats what I had on hand. I bet red wine would be even better because its richers and the portobello is a very "meaty mushroom". Thanks so much for this very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Really great recipe!! I tried it last night after having recently switched over to becoming a vegetarian (or more accurately a pescetarian), but it was fabulous! I cut it into strips and served it over salad! It was fabulous! A great substitute for steak! Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My only advice is to use regular wine instead of cooking wine and you will have a 5 star side dish. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very easy and very good. Forget the cooking wine; use a drinkable middle-shelf wine (you need a glass to go with your meal anyway, right?). The mushrooms shrink up quite a bit; one is definitely not enough for a serving. I'm going to try sprinkling them with freshly grated Parmesan during the last ten minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I have to say, I really enjoyed the flavor of this. I cooked as directed, except I used my favorite red drinking wine instead of cooking wine (a bit less than called for) because I had it on hand. Then, after it was cooked, I made 'burgers' by putting the mushrooms on toasted whole grain burger buns and topped with bleu cheese and spring mix salad greens (instead of lettuce). It was great and I didn't even need any other condiments because the mushrooms came out very juicy! I will say that they do shrink up quite a bit during cooking, and I could have eaten two easily. Next time I would add something to the menu to make it more of a meal. My last little tip - toasting the buns will keep them from getting too soggy. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is great! Quick and easy. I made this into a sandwich with roasted red pepper and a slice of fresh mozzarella on a ciabatta role with basil pesto. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
left the wine out, but the mushrooms were amazing!! i LOVE balsamic and this is def. not lacking in the vinegar flavor. Used over a spinach and tomato salad without salad dressing. Enough flavor to carry the salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but these were too vinegar~y. I tried to add some bleu cheese on top like some others suggested, but still the vinegar was overpowering. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was tasty and easy too! I ate it as a burger with some swiss cheese and olive oil mayo.....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States