Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I wound up making a couple small modifications to this. I didn't have cooking wine nor did I have fresh garlic. I omitted the wine and subbed 1/4 tsp garlic salt for each clove. It was easy and worked out to be rather tasty. I'll happily make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Scrumptious!!! The best tasting mushrooms....so good that I made them last night, and I went to the store this afternoon to make them again tonight!...I used only 1 tblspn of the balsamic and kept everything else the same....I did use white wine cause thats what I had on hand. I bet red wine would be even better because its richers and the portobello is a very "meaty mushroom". Thanks so much for this very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Really great recipe!! I tried it last night after having recently switched over to becoming a vegetarian (or more accurately a pescetarian), but it was fabulous! I cut it into strips and served it over salad! It was fabulous! A great substitute for steak! Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very easy and very good. Forget the cooking wine; use a drinkable middle-shelf wine (you need a glass to go with your meal anyway, right?). The mushrooms shrink up quite a bit; one is definitely not enough for a serving. I'm going to try sprinkling them with freshly grated Parmesan during the last ten minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My only advice is to use regular wine instead of cooking wine and you will have a 5 star side dish. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I have to say, I really enjoyed the flavor of this. I cooked as directed, except I used my favorite red drinking wine instead of cooking wine (a bit less than called for) because I had it on hand. Then, after it was cooked, I made 'burgers' by putting the mushrooms on toasted whole grain burger buns and topped with bleu cheese and spring mix salad greens (instead of lettuce). It was great and I didn't even need any other condiments because the mushrooms came out very juicy! I will say that they do shrink up quite a bit during cooking, and I could have eaten two easily. Next time I would add something to the menu to make it more of a meal. My last little tip - toasting the buns will keep them from getting too soggy. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is great! Quick and easy. I made this into a sandwich with roasted red pepper and a slice of fresh mozzarella on a ciabatta role with basil pesto. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
left the wine out, but the mushrooms were amazing!! i LOVE balsamic and this is def. not lacking in the vinegar flavor. Used over a spinach and tomato salad without salad dressing. Enough flavor to carry the salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but these were too vinegar~y. I tried to add some bleu cheese on top like some others suggested, but still the vinegar was overpowering. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was tasty and easy too! I ate it as a burger with some swiss cheese and olive oil mayo.....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States