Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Really great recipe!! I tried it last night after having recently switched over to becoming a vegetarian (or more accurately a pescetarian), but it was fabulous! I cut it into strips and served it over salad! It was fabulous! A great substitute for steak! Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Scrumptious!!! The best tasting mushrooms....so good that I made them last night, and I went to the store this afternoon to make them again tonight!...I used only 1 tblspn of the balsamic and kept everything else the same....I did use white wine cause thats what I had on hand. I bet red wine would be even better because its richers and the portobello is a very "meaty mushroom". Thanks so much for this very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was very good but I used a white wine that I would drink, cooking wine just does not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was tasty and easy too! I ate it as a burger with some swiss cheese and olive oil mayo.....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very easy and very good. Forget the cooking wine; use a drinkable middle-shelf wine (you need a glass to go with your meal anyway, right?). The mushrooms shrink up quite a bit; one is definitely not enough for a serving. I'm going to try sprinkling them with freshly grated Parmesan during the last ten minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
i used a drinking wine and the taste was too powerful for our likings..also the soy sauce gave it an overpowering taste. I would recommend using the cooking wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I have to say, I really enjoyed the flavor of this. I cooked as directed, except I used my favorite red drinking wine instead of cooking wine (a bit less than called for) because I had it on hand. Then, after it was cooked, I made 'burgers' by putting the mushrooms on toasted whole grain burger buns and topped with bleu cheese and spring mix salad greens (instead of lettuce). It was great and I didn't even need any other condiments because the mushrooms came out very juicy! I will say that they do shrink up quite a bit during cooking, and I could have eaten two easily. Next time I would add something to the menu to make it more of a meal. My last little tip - toasting the buns will keep them from getting too soggy. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I wound up making a couple small modifications to this. I didn't have cooking wine nor did I have fresh garlic. I omitted the wine and subbed 1/4 tsp garlic salt for each clove. It was easy and worked out to be rather tasty. I'll happily make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I can't believe this recipe hasn't been reviewed more or rated higher! I followed the recipe exactly and the mushrooms turn out great. Easy, fast, and Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ieatwithgusto
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I knew this was going to taste good, I just didn't know it was going to taste AMAZING. I used some Two Buck Chuck Cab Sauv for the wine, and drank a glass while the mushrooms marinated. I served it over whole wheat couscous with string beans and water chestnuts on the side. So savory and delicious! I haven't had meat in a very long time and don't miss it one bit, but this would be an amazing substitute for steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieatwithgusto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gansevoort, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States